A RESOLUTION TO APPROVE AN AMENDMENT TO THE CHARTER

OF THE HAMPTON ROADS PLANNING DISTRICT COMMISSION

FOR THE PURPOSE OF ALLOWING ANY BOARD MEMBER TO

SERVE AS CHAIRMAN OR VICE CHAIRMAN,

PROVIDED THEY ARE ELECTED OFFICIALS

WHEREAS, the Charter of the Hampton Roads Planning District Commission states that the Chairman and Vice Chairman be selected from the Executive Committee; and

WHEREAS, the number of members eligible to serve as Chairman and Vice Chairman is limited, the Hampton Roads Planning District Commission desires to amend the Charter to allow any member to serve as Chairman or Vice Chairman provided they are elected officials; and

WHEREAS, the Vice Chairman shall be known as the Chairman Elect.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that

- The County of James City hereby approves the Amendment to the Charter of the Hampton Roads Planning District Commission to allow the Chairman and Vice Chairman to be selected from the entire Commission Membership, provided that they are elected officials and that the Vice Chairman may also be known as the Chairman Elect.
- The appropriate officer of the County of James City is hereby authorized to certify or attest a copy of this Resolution Approving the Amendment to the Charter of the Hampton Roads Planning District Commission as stated in the attached (Exhibit A), which shall become effective upon approval by two-thirds of the fifteen jurisdictions.

lack D. Edwards

SUPERVISOR

MCGLENNON

Chairman, Board of Supervisors

ATTEST:

VOTE AYE

Sanford B. Wanner

BRADSHAW

AYE

NERVITT

SISK

AYE AYE

Clerk to the Board

EDWARDS

AYE

Adopted by the Board of Supervisors of James City County, Virginia, this 12th day of May,

1998.

hprdcamd.res

CHARTER AGREEMENT

OF

THE HAMPTON ROADS PLANNING DISTRICT COMMISSION

ARTICLE III

OFFICERS

- 1. Officers. The Officers of the COMMISSION shall consist of a Chairman, a Vice Chairman, and such other officers as may be deemed advisable by the COMMISSION. The Vice Chairman shall serve, and may also be known, as the Chairman Elect. All officers shall be elected by the COMMISSION from amongst its members, except that it may elect a secretary and a treasurer who need not be members of the COMMISSION.
- 2. Term of Office. All officers shall be elected for a term of one year or until their successors are elected or until they resign or are removed from office. The Chairman and Vice Chairman must be from different Subdivisions and be members of the Executive Committee. The Chairman and Vice Chairman may serve not more than two (2) consecutive one (1) year terms in succession.