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faith and credit of the Commonwealth, but such obligations shall be payable solely, subject to
appropriation by the General Assembly, (i) first from any federal highway reimbursements and any
other federal highway assistance received from time to time by the Commonwealth, (ii) then, at the
discretion of the Board, to the extent required, from legally available revenues of the Transportation
Trust Fund, and (iii) then, from such other funds, if any, which are designated by the General Assembly
for such purpose.

G. Commonwealth of Virginia Transportation Credit Assistance Revenue Bonds issued under the
provisions of this article shall not be deemed to constitute a debt of the Commonwealth of Virginia or a
pledge of the full faith and credit of the Commonwealth, but such obligations shall be payable solely,
subject to appropriation by the General Assembly, from revenues with respect to or generated by the
project or projects being financed thereby and any tolls or other revenues pledged by the Board as
security therefor and in accordance with the applicable federal credit assistance authorized with respect
to such project or projects by the United States Department of Transportation.

H. Commonwealth of Virginia Transportation Capital Projects Revenue Bonds issued under the
provisions of this article for projects as provided in subdivision 2 v of § 33.1-268 shall not be deemed to
constitute a debt of the Commonwealth of Virginia or a pledge of the full faith and credit of the
Commonwealth, but such bonds shall be payable solely, subject to their appropriation by the General
Assembly, (i) from the revenues deposited into the Priority Transportation Fund established pursuant to
$ 33.1-23.03:8; (ii) to the extent required, from revenues legally available from the Transportation
Trust Fund; and (iii) to the extent required, from any other legally available funds.

CHAPTER 10.2.
HAMPTON ROADS TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY.

§ 33.1-391.6. Short Title.
This chapter shall be known and may be cited as the Hampton Roads Transportation Authority Act.
$ 33.1-391.7. Authority created,

The Hampton Roads Transportation Authority, hereinafter in this chapter known as "the Authority” is
hereby created as a body politic and as a political subdivision of the Commonwealth. The Authority
shall embrace the Counties of Isle of Wight, James City, and York and the Cities of Chesapeake,
Hampton, Newport News, Norfolk, Poquoson, Portsmouth, Suffolk, Virginia Beach, and Williamsburg.
The membership of the Authority shall be as provided in §§ 33.1-391.9 and 33.1-391.12. In addition, the
Counties of Accomack and Northampton shall also be embraced by the Authority at such time that the
Chesapeake Bay Bridge-Tunnel facilities become subject to the control of the Authority as provided
under § 33.1-391.12,

§ 33.1-391.8. Powers of the Authority.

Notwithstanding any contrary provision of this title and in accordance with all applicable federal
statutes and requirements, the Authority shall control and operate and may impose and collect tolls in
amounts established by the Authority for the use of any new or improved highway, bridge, tunnel, or
transportation facility to increase capacity on such facility (including new construction relating to, or
improvements to, the bridges, tunnels, roadways, and related facilities known collectively as the
Chesapeake Bay Bridge-Tunnel as described in § 33.1-391.12, pursuant to the conditions set forth in
such section) constructed by the Authority or solely with revenues of the Authority or revenues under
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the control of the Authority. The amount of any such toll may be varied from facility to facility, by lane,
by congestion levels, by day of the week, time of day, type of vehicle, number of axles, or any similar
combination thereof, and a reduced rate may be established for commuters as defined by the Authority.
For purposes of this section, the Midtown and Downtown tunnels located within the Cities of Norfolk
and Portsmouth shall be considered a single transportation facility and both facilities may be tolled if
improvements are made to either tunnel. Any tolls imposed by the Authority shall be collected by an
electronic toll system that, to the extent possible, shall not impede the traffic flow of the facility or
prohibit a toll facility from retaining means of nonautomated toll collection in some lanes of the
facility. For all facilities tolled by the Authority, there shall be signs erected prior to the point of toll
collection that clearly state how the majority of the toll revenue is being spent by the Authority to
benefit the users of the facility.

$ 33.1-391.9. Composition of Authority; chairman and vice-chairman, quorum.

The Authority shall consist of the following members: (i) the chief elected officer of the governing body
(or in the discretion of the chief elected officer, his designee, who shall be a current elected officer of
such governing body) of each of the Counties of Isle of Wight, James City, and York and the Cities of
Chesapeake, Hampton, Newport News, Norfolk, Poquoson, Portsmouth, Suffolk, Virginia Beach, and
Williamsburg, who shall serve with voting privileges; (ii) a member of the Commonwealth
Transportation Board who resides in a county or city embraced by the Authority appointed by the
Governor who shall serve ex officio without a vote, (iii) the Director of the Virginia Department of Rail
and Public Transportation, or his designee, who shall serve ex officio without a vote; (iv) the
Commonwealth Transportation Commissioner, or his designee, who shall serve ex officio without a
vote; (v) two members of the Virginia House of Delegates each of whom shall reside in a city or county
whose governing body has a voting member on the Authority, neither of whom shall reside in the same
city or county, appointed by the Speaker of the House of Delegates, who shall serve ex officio without a
vote, and (vi) one member of the Senate of Virginia who shall reside in a city or county whose
governing body has a voting member on the Authority, appointed by the Senate Committee on Rules
who shall serve ex officio without a vote. Legislative members shall serve terms coincident with their
terms of office. Vacancies shall be filled by appointment for the unexpired term by the same process as
used to make the original appointment.

The Authority shall appoint a chairman and vice-chairman from among its voting membership.

A majority of the voting members of the Authority shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of
business.

Decisions of the Authority shall require a quorum and shall be in accordance with voting procedures
established by the Authority. Decisions of the Authority shall require the affirmative vote of a majority
of the voting members of the Authority present and voting and such members present and voting in the
affirmative shall be representatives of counties and cities that collectively include at least 51% of the
population embraced by the Authority at the time of the vote. The population of counties and cities
embraced by the Authority shall be the population as determined by the most recently preceding
decennial census, except that after July 1 of the fifth year following such census, the population of each
county and city shall be adjusted, based on final population estimates made by the Weldon Cooper
Center for Public Service of the University of Virginia.

Members of the Authority shall be reimbursed for their actual and necessary expenses incurred in the
performance of their duties and, in addition, shall be paid a per diem equal to the amount paid
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members of the Commonwealth Transportation Board for each day or portion thereof during which
they are engaged in the official business of the Authority.

The Auditor of Public Accounts, or his legally authorized representatives, shall annually audit the
Sfinancial accounts of the Authority, and the cost of such audit shall be borne by the Authority.

$ 33.1-391.10. Additional powers of the Authority.

The Authority shall have the following powers together with all powers incidental thereto or necessary
for the performance of those hereinafter stated:

1. To sue and be sued and to prosecute and defend, at law or in equity, in any court having jurisdiction
of the subject matter and of the parties;

2. To adopt and use a corporate seal and to alter the same at its pleasure;

3. To procure insurance, participate in insurance plans, and provide self-insurance,; however, the
purchase of insurance, participation in an insurance plan, or the creation of a self-insurance plan by
the Authority shall not be deemed a waiver or relinquishment of any sovereign immunity to which the
Authority or its officers, directors, employees, or agents are otherwise entitled;

4. To establish bylaws and make all rules and regulations, not inconsistent with the provisions of this
chapter, deemed expedient for the management of the Authority's affairs,

5. To apply for and accept money, materials, contributions, grants, or other financial assistance from
the United States and agencies or instrumentalities thereof, the Commonwealth, and any political
subdivision, agency, or instrumentality of the Commonwealth, and from any legitimate private source;

6. To acquire real and personal property or any interest therein by purchase, lease, gift, or otherwise
for purposes consistent with this chapter, and to hold, encumber, sell, or otherwise dispose of such land
or interest for purposes consistent with this chapter;

7. To acquire by purchase, lease, contract, or otherwise, highways, bridges, tunnels, railroads, rolling
stock, and transit and rail facilities and other transportation-related facilities, and to construct the
same by purchase, lease, contract, or otherwise;

8. In consultation with the Commonwealth Transportation Board and with each city or county in which
the facility or any part thereof is or is to be located, to repair, expand, enlarge, construct, reconstruct,
or renovate any or all of the transportation facilities referred to in this section, and to acquire any real
or personal property needed for any such purpose;

9. To enter into agreements or leases with public or private entities for the operation and maintenance
of bridges, tunnels, transit and rail facilities, and highways;

10. To make and execute contracts, deeds, mortgages, leases, and all other instruments and agreements
necessary or convenient for the performance of its duties and the exercise of its powers and functions
under this chapter;

11. To the extent funds are made or become available to the Authority to do so, to employ employees,
agents, advisors, and consultants, including without limitation, attorneys, financial advisers, engineers,
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and other technical advisers and, the provisions of any other law to the contrary notwithstanding, to
determine their duties and compensation;

12. The authority shall comply with the provisions governing localities contained in § 15.2-2108.23,

13. To decide and vote to impose all of the fees and taxes authorized under law for use by the Authority.
Furthermore, no such fee or tax shall apply to Accomack or Northampton County until such time that
the Chesapeake Bay Bridge-Tunnel facilities become subject to the control of the Authority as provided
under § 33.1-391.12; and

14. To the extent not inconsistent with the other provisions of this chapter, and without limiting or
restricting the powers otherwise given the Authority, to exercise all of the powers given to
transportation district commissions by §§ 15.2-4518 and 15.2-4519. The Authority shall only undertake
those transportation projects that are included in the federally mandated 2030 Regional Transportation
Plan approved by the Metropolitan Planning Organization, or any successive plan, and that are
located in, or which provide a benefit to, the counties and cities that are members of the Authority,
subject to the limitations related to those projects contained in this section.

The Authority shall phase construction of the transportation projects that are included in the federally
mandated 2030 Regional Transportation Plan, or any successive plan. Except as specifically provided
herein, projects listed in the second phase shall not be undertaken until the Authority has considered
and acted upon a financing plan for the maintenance, operation, and construction for the projects listed
in the first phase that meet the requirements of this section.

First Phase Projects:

Route 460 Upgrade; I-64 Widening on the Peninsula; I-64 Widening on the Southside;, Downtown
Tunnel/Midtown Tunnel/MLK Extension; Southeastern Parkway/Dominion Blvd/Route 17; 1-664
Widening in Newport News, I-664 Widening on the Southside; 1-664 Monitor Merrimac Memorial
Bridge Tunnel Widening.

Second Phase Projects:

I-564 from 1-64 to the Intermodal Connector, I-564 Connector to the Monitor Merrimac Memorial
Bridge Tunnel; Craney Island Connector.

$ 33.1-391.11. Authority a responsible public entity under Public-Private Transportation Act of 1995.

The Authority is a responsible public entity as defined in the Public-Private Transportation Act of 1995
($ 56-556 et seq.) (the PPTA).

It is the intent of the General Assembly that the Authority shall encourage private sector participation
in the aforementioned projects. Any cost savings realized under the PPTA relating to the construction
of first phase projects may be applied to advancing the future construction of second phase projects.
Further, nothing herein shall prohibit the Authority from receiving and acting on PPTA proposals on
projects in either phase.

$ 33.1-391.12. Addition of the Chesapeake Bay Bridge-Tunnel to facilities controlled by Authority;
expansion of Authority membership, applicability of local transportation fees to Accomack and
Northampton Counties.
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The bridges, tunnels, roadways, and related facilities known collectively as the Chesapeake Bay
Bridge-Tunnel, which provide a vehicular connection across the mouth of the Chesapeake Bay between
the City of Virginia Beach and Northampton County, shall become subject to the control of the
Authority subject to the provisions of § 33.1-391.8, at such time as all of the bonds and other evidences
of debt now or hereafter issued by or on behalf of the Chesapeake Bay Bridge and Tunnel Commission
shall have been satisfied or paid in full. Until such bonds and other evidences of debt have been
satisfied or paid in full, control of and responsibility for the operation and maintenance of the
Chesapeake Bay Bridge-Tunnel facilities shall remain with the Chesapeake Bay Bridge and Tunnel
Commission.

In discharging its responsibilities for the operation and maintenance of the Chesapeake Bay
Bridge-Tunnel facilities, the Authority shall have, in addition to the powers it is given by this chapter,
all of the powers and authority given to the Chesapeake Bay Bridge and Tunnel Commission by
Chapter 693 of the Acts of Assembly of 1954 and by Chapter 714 of the Acts of the Assembly of 1956,
as amended and incorporated by reference as § 33.1-253.

At such time as the Chesapeake Bay Bridge-Tunnel facilities become subject to the control of the
Authority as contemplated by this section, the Authority shall be enlarged by two members, who shall
serve with voting privileges, one of whom shall be the chief elected officer of the governing body of the
County of Accomack (or in the discretion of the chief elected officer, his designee, who shall be a
current elected officer of such governing body), and one of whom shall be the chief elected officer of the
governing body of the County of Northampton (or in the discretion of the chief elected officer, his
designee, who shall be a current elected officer of such governing body).

$ 33.1-391.13. Issuance of bonds by the Chesapeake Bay Bridge and Tunnel Commission.

On a prospective basis, prior to issuing any bonds for the purposes of financing the construction of new
or additional tunnels, the Chesapeake Bay Bridge and Tunnel Commission shall affirm that no bond, or
payment of any temporary or interim financing shall have a maturity date that extends beyond the
maturity date of any existing bond or note until such time as the Authority is consulted about such
issuance.

§ 33.1-391.14. Continuing responsibilities of the Commonwealth Transportation Board and the
Virginia Department of Transportation.

Except as otherwise explicitly provided in this chapter, until such time as the Authority and the Virginia
Department of Transportation, or the Authority and the Commonwealth Transportation Board, agree
otherwise in writing, the Commonwealth Transportation Board shall allocate funding fo and the
Department of Transportation shall perform or cause to be performed all maintenance and operation
of the bridges, tunnels, and roadways pursuant to § 33.1-391.10, and shall perform such other required
services and activities with respect to such bridges, tunnels, and roadways as were being performed on
January 1, 2008.

$ 33.1-391.15. Use of revenues by the Authority.

Notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter, all moneys received by the Authority shall be used
by the Authority solely for the benefit of those counties and cities that are embraced by the Authority,
and such moneys shall be used by the Authority in a manner that is consistent with the purposes stated
in this chapter.
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§ 46.2-206.1. Imposition of certain additional fees on certain drivers.

A. The purpose of the civil remedial fees imposed in this section is to generate revenue from drivers
whose proven dangerous driving behavior places significant financial burdens upon the
Commonwealth. The civil remedial fees established by this section shall be in addition to any other
fees, costs, or penalties imposed pursuant to the Code of Virginia.

B. The civil remedial fees established by this section shall be assessed on any resident of Virginia
operating a motor vehicle on the highways of Virginia, including persons to whom Virginia driver's
licenses, commercial driver's licenses, or learner's permits have been issued pursuant to this title; and
persons operating motor vehicles without licenses or whose license has been revoked or suspended.

C. The court shall assess a person with the following fees upon each conviction of the following

offenses:

1. Driving while his driver's license was suspended or revoked pursuant to § 18.2-272, 46.2-301,
46.2-302, 46.2-341.21, or 46.2-391 shall be assessed a fee to be paid in three annual payments of $250
each;

violation of § 46.2-868.1 shall be assessed a fee to be paid in three annual payments of 3350 each;

3. Driving while intoxicated in violation of § 18.2-266, 18.2-266.1, or 46.2-341.24 shall be assessed a
fee to be paid in three annual payments of $§750 each;

4. Any other misdemeanor conviction for a driving and/or motor vehicle related violation of Title 18.2
or this title that is not included in one of the preceding three subdivisions shall be assessed a fee to be
paid in three annual payments of $300 each, and

5. Any felony conviction for a driving or motor vehicle-related offense under Title 18.2 or this title,
shall be assessed a fee to be paid in three annual payments of $1,000 each.

D. For the purposes of subsection C:

1. A finding of guilty in the case of a juvenile and a conviction under a substantially similar valid local
ordinance of any locality of the Commonwealth, shall be a conviction.

2. The fees assessed under subsection C shall be implemented in a manner whereby no convictions for
offenses committed prior to July 1, 2007, shall be considered.

E. The court shall collect, in full, the first annual payment of the fee imposed under subsection C at the
time of conviction and shall order the person assessed a fee to submit the second annual payment to the
Department within 14 calendar months of the date of conviction and the third annual payment to the
Department within 26 months of the date of conviction. When transmitting conviction information to the
Department the court shall also transmit notice that a fee has been imposed under this section and the
deadline upon which the second and third annual payments must be submitted to the Department. The
court shall order suspension of the driver's license or privilege to drive a motor vehicle in Virginia as
provided in § 46.2-395 of any person failing to pay the first annual payment of the fee assessed under
subsection C.
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F. For all convictions reported to the Department for which fees are established under subsection C,
the person assessed the fee shall submit the second annual payment to the Commissioner within 14
calendar months of the date of conviction and the third annual payment within 26 months of the date of
conviction. The Commissioner, or his designee, shall establish guidelines, policies, or procedures to
notify every person assessed a fee pursuant to subsection C of the second and the third annual
payments. If the person fails to make such payment, the Commissioner shall suspend his driver's license
or privilege to operate a motor vehicle in Virginia. No license shall be reissued or reinstated until all
fees assessed pursuant to this section have been paid and all other reinstatement requirements as
provided in this title have been satisfied.

G. In addition to any fees set forth in subsection C, any person whose driver's record with the
Department shows a balance of eight or more driver demerit points on July 15 shall be assessed a fee
of $100 plus $75 for each demerit point in excess of eight, but not greater than 8700, provided that only
those demerit points attributable to offenses which occurred on or after July 1, 2007 shall be used to
calculate and assess such fees.

H. The Commissioner, or his designee, shall assess the fees set forth in subsection G annually,
beginning on July 15, 2007.

I The Commissioner, or his designee, shall establish guidelines, policies, or procedures to notify every
person assessed a fee pursuant to subsection G. If any assessment made under subsection G remains
unpaid 60 days following the date on which the notice of assessment was mailed, the Commissioner
shall suspend the driver's license or privilege to drive a motor vehicle in Virginia of the person against
whom the assessment was imposed. No license shall be reissued or reinstated until all fees assessed
pursuant to this section have been paid and all other reinstatement requirements as provided in this
title have been satisfied.

J. In the event that a person disputes a conviction on his driver's record based upon identity, if the
person presents the Department a certified copy of a petition to a court of competent jurisdiction
seeking to vacate an order of such conviction, the Department shall suspend the imposition of the
assessment. Such suspension shall be valid for one year from the date of the commencement or until 30
days after an entry of a final order on such petition, whichever occurs first.

K. Funds collected through the imposition of the fees as provided for in this section shall be used to pay
the Department's cost in imposing and collecting such assessments as provided in the general

appropriation act, and any remainder shall be deposited into the Highway Maintenance and Operating
Fund.

§ 46.2-694. Fees for vehicles designed and used for transportation of passengers; weights used for
computing fees; burden of proof.

A. The annual registration fees for motor vehicles, trailers, and semitrailers designed and used for the
transportation of passengers on the highways in the Commonwealth are:

1. Twenty-three Thirty-three dollars for each private passenger car or motor home if the passenger car
or motor home weighs 4,000 pounds or less, provided that it is not used for the transportation of
passengers for compensation and is not kept or used for rent or for hire, or is not operated under a lease
without a chauffeur.

2. Pwenty-eight Thirty-eight dollars for each passenger car or motor home which weighs more than
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4,000 pounds, provided that it is not used for the transportation of passengers for compensation and is
not kept or used for rent or for hire, or is not operated under a lease without a chauffeur.

3. Thirty cents per 100 pounds or major fraction thereof for a private motor vehicle other than a
motorcycle with a normal seating capacity of more than 10 adults including the driver if the private
motor vehicle is not used for the transportation of passengers for compensation and is not kept or used
for rent or for hire or is not operated under a lease without a chauffeur. In no case shall the fee be less
than $23 if the vehicle weighs 4,000 pounds or less or $28 if the vehicle weighs more than 4,000
pounds.

4. Thirty cents per 100 pounds or major fraction thereof for a school bus. In no case shall the fee be less
than $23 if the vehicle weighs 4,000 pounds or less or $28 if the vehicle weighs more than 4,000
pounds.

5. Twenty-three dollars for each trailer or semitrailer designed for use as living quarters for human
beings.

6. Thirteen dollars plus $ 0.30 per 100 pounds or major fraction thereof for each motor vehicle, trailer,
or semitrailer used as a common carrier of passengers, operating either intrastate or interstate. Interstate
common carriers of interstate passengers may elect to be licensed and pay the fees prescribed in
subdivision 7 of this subsection on submission to the Commissioner of a declaration of operations and
equipment as he may prescribe. An additional $5 shall be charged if the motor vehicle weighs more
than 4,000 pounds.

7. Thirteen dollars plus $ 0.70 per 100 pounds or major fraction thereof for each motor vehicle, trailer,
or semitrailer used as a common carrier of interstate passengers if election is made to be licensed under
this subsection. An additional $5 shall be charged if the motor vehicle weighs more than 4,000 pounds.
In lieu of the foregoing fee of $ 0.70 per 100 pounds, a motor carrier of passengers, operating two or
more vehicles both within and outside the Commonwealth and registered for insurance purposes with
the Surface Transportation Board of the United States Department of Transportation, Federal Highway
Administration, may apply to the Commissioner for prorated registration. Upon the filing of such
application, in such form as the Commissioner may prescribe, the Commissioner shall apportion the
registration fees provided in this subsection so that the total registration fees to be paid for such vehicles
of such carrier shall be that proportion of the total fees, if there were no apportionment, that the total
number of miles traveled by such vehicles of such carrier within the Commonwealth bears to the total
number of miles traveled by such vehicles within and outside the Commonwealth. Such total mileage in
each instance is the estimated total mileage to be traveled by such vehicles during the license year for
which such fees are paid, subject to the adjustment in accordance with an audit to be made by
representatives of the Commissioner at the end of such license year, the expense of such audit to be
borne by the carrier being audited. Each vehicle passing into or through Virginia shall be registered and
licensed in Virginia and the annual registration fee to be paid for each such vehicle shall not be less
than $33. For the purpose of determining such apportioned registration fees, only those motor vehicles,
trailers, or semitrailers operated both within and outside the Commonwealth shall be subject to
inclusion in determining the apportionment provided for herein.

8. Thirteen dollars plus $ 0.80 per 100 pounds or major fraction thereof for each motor vehicle, trailer
or semitrailer kept or used for rent or for hire or operated under a lease without a chauffeur for the
transportation of passengers. An additional fee of $5 shall be charged if the vehicle weighs more than
4,000 pounds. This subsection does not apply to vehicles used as common carriers.
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9. Twenty-three dollars for a taxicab or other vehicle which is kept for rent or hire operated with a
chauffeur for the transportation of passengers, and which operates or should operate under permits
issued by the Department as required by law. An additional fee of $5 shall be charged if the vehicle
weighs more than 4,000 pounds. This subsection does not apply to vehicles used as common carriers.

10. Eighteen dollars for a motorcycle, with or without a sidecar. To this fee shall be added a surcharge
of $3 which shall be distributed as provided in § 46.2-1191.

11. Twenty-three dollars for a bus used exclusively for transportation to and from church school, for the
purpose of religious instruction, or church, for the purpose of divine worship. If the empty weight of the
vehicle exceeds 4,000 pounds, the fee shall be $28.

12. Thirteen dollars plus $ 0.70 per 100 pounds or major fraction thereof for other passenger-carrying
vehicles.

13. An additional fee of $4 per year shall be charged and collected at the time of registration of each
pickup or panel truck and each motor vehicle under subdivisions 1 through 12 of this subsection. All
funds collected pursuant to this subdivision shall be paid into the state treasury and shall be set aside as
a special fund to be used only for emergency medical service purposes. The moneys in the special fund
shall be distributed as follows:

a. Two percent shall be distributed to the State Department of Health to provide funding to the Virginia
Association of Volunteer Rescue Squads to be used solely for the purpose of conducting volunteer
recruitment, retention and training activities;

b. Thirty percent shall be distributed to the State Department of Health to support (i) emergency
medical services training programs (excluding advanced life support classes); (ii) advanced life support
training; (iii) recruitment and retention programs (all funds for such support shall be used to recruit and
retain volunteer emergency medical services personnel only, including public awareness campaigns,
technical assistance programs, and similar activities); (iv) emergency medical services system
development, initiatives, and priorities based on needs identified by the State Emergency Medical
Services Advisory Board; (v) local, regional, and statewide performance contracts for emergency
communication enhancements; and (vii) improved emergency preparedness and response. Any funds set
aside for distribution under this provision and remaining undistributed at the end of any fiscal year shall
revert to the Rescue Squad Assistance Fund;

c. Thirty-two percent shall be distributed to the Rescue Squad Assistance Fund;

d. Ten percent shall be available to the State Department of Health's Office of Emergency Medical
Services for use in emergency medical services; and

e. Twenty-six percent shall be returned by the Comptroller to the locality wherein such vehicle is
registered, to provide funding for training of volunteer or salaried emergency medical service personnel
of licensed, nonprofit emergency medical services agencies and for the purchase of necessary
equipment and supplies for use in such locality for licensed, nonprofit emergency medical and rescue
services.

The Comptroller shall clearly designate on the warrant, check, or other means of transmitting these
funds that such moneys are only to be used for purposes set forth in this subdivision. Such funds shall
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be in addition to any local appropriations and local governing bodies shall not use these funds to
supplant local funds. Each local governing body shall report annually to the Board of Health on the use
of the funds returned to it pursuant to this section. In any case in which the local governing body grants
the funds to a regional emergency medical services council to be distributed to the licensed, nonprofit
emergency medical and rescue services, the local governing body shall remain responsible for the
proper use of the funds. If, at the end of any fiscal year, a report on the use of the funds returned to the
locality pursuant to this section for that year has not been received from a local governing body, any
funds due to that local governing body for the next fiscal year shall be retained until such time as the
report has been submitted to the Board.

B. All motor vehicles, trailers, and semitrailers registered as provided in subsection B of § 46.2-646
shall pay a registration fee equal to one-twelfth of all fees required by subsection A of this section or §
46.2-697 for such motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer, computed to the nearest cent, multiplied by the
number of months in the registration period for such motor vehicles, trailers, and semitrailers.

C. The manufacturer's shipping weight or scale weight shall be used for computing all fees required by
this section to be based upon the weight of the vehicle.

D. The applicant for registration bears the burden of proof that the vehicle for which registration is
sought is entitled by weight, design, and use to be registered at the fee tendered by the applicant to the
Commissioner or to his authorized agent.

§ 46.2-694.1. Fees for trailers and semitrailers not designed and used for transportation of passengers.

Unless otherwise specified in this title, the registration fees for trailers and semitrailers not designed and
used for the transportation of passengers on the highways in the Commonwealth shall be as follows:

Registered Gross Weight l-Year Fee 2-Year Fee Permanent Fee
0-1,500 1lbs $8-660 $518.00 $16-066 $36.00 5606 $70.00
1,501-4,000 1lbs $18-56 $28.50 $37-68 $57.00 $50-00 $75.00
4,001 1lbs & above $23-50 $40.00 $4F+-066 $80.00 $56-H6 $100.00

From the foregoing registration fees, the following amounts, regardless of weight category, shall be paid
by the Department into the state treasury and set aside for the payment of the administrative costs of the
safety inspection program provided for in Article 21 (§ 46.2-1157 et seq.) of Chapter 10 of this title: (1)
from each one-year registration fee, one dollar and fifty cents; (ii) from each two-year registration fee,
three dollars; and (iii) from each permanent registration fee, four dollars.

§ 46.2-697. Fees for vehicles not designed or used for transportation of passengers.

A. Except as otherwise provided in this section, the fee for registration of all motor vehicles not
designed and used for the transportation of passengers shall be thirteen-dellars $23 plus an amount
determined by the gross weight of the vehicle or combination of vehicles of which it is a part, when
loaded to the maximum capacity for which it is registered and licensed, according to the schedule of
fees set forth in this section. For each 1,000 pounds of gross weight, or major fraction thereof, for which
any such vehicle is registered, there shall be paid to the Commissioner the fee indicated in the following
schedule immediately opposite the weight group and under the classification established by the
provisions of subsection B of § 46.2-711 into which such vehicle, or any combination of vehicles of
which it is a part, falls when loaded to the maximum capacity for which it is registered and licensed.
The fee for a pickup or panel truck shall be twenty-three-dellars $33 if its gross weight is 4,000 pounds
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or less, and twenty-eight-dellars 338 if its gross weight is 4,001 pounds through 6,500 pounds. The fee
shall be twenty-nine-dolars $39 for any motor vehicle with a gross weight of 6,501 pounds through
10,000 pounds.

Fee Per Thousand Pounds of Gross Weight

Gross Weight Private For Rent or
Groups (pounds) Carriers For Hire Carriers
10,001 - 11,000 $2-66 3.17 $4.75
11,001 - 12,000 280 3.42 4.90
12,001 - 13,000 356 3.66 5.15
13,001 - 14,000 326 3.90 5.40
14,001 -'15,000 345 4.15 5.65
15,001 - 16,000 366 4.39 5.90
16,001 - 17,000 466 4.88 6.15
17,001 - 18,000 445 5.37 6.40
18,001 - 19,000 484 5.86 7.50
19,001 - 20,000 526 6.34 7.70
20,001 - 21,000 566 6.83 7.90
21,001 - 22,000 €60 7.32 8.10
22,001 - 23,000 645 7.81 8.30
23,001 - 24,000 €80 8.30 8.50
24,001 - 25,000 56 8.42 8.70
25,001 - 26,000 €85 8.48 8.90
26,001 - 27,000 825 10.07 10.35
27,001 - 28,000 835 10.13 10.55
28,001 - 29,000 835 10.18 10.75
29,001 - 40,000 845 10.31 10.95
40,001 - 45,000 55 10.43 11.15
45,001 - 50,000 875 10.68 11.25
50,001 - 55,000 925 11.29 13.25
55,001 - 76,000 1125 13.73 15.25
76,001 - 80,000 1325 16.17 16.25

For all such motor vehicles exceeding a gross weight of 6,500 pounds, an additional fee of five dollars
shall be imposed.

B. In lieu of registering any motor vehicle referred to in this section for an entire licensing year, the
owner may elect to register the vehicle only for one or more quarters of a licensing year, and in such
case, the fee shall be twenty-five percent of the annual fee plus five dollars for each quarter that the
vehicle is registered.

C. When an owner elects to register and license a motor vehicle under subsection B of this section, the
provisions of §§ 46.2-646 and 46.2-688 shall not apply.

D. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no vehicle designed, equipped, and used to tow disabled
or inoperable motor vehicles shall be required to register in accordance with any gross weight other than
the gross weight of the towing vehicle itself, exclusive of any vehicle being towed.

E. All registrations and licenses issued for less than a full year shall expire on the date shown on the
license and registration.

$ 46.2-702.1. Distribution of certain revenue.

A. Except as provided in subsection B, the net additional revenues generated by increases in the
registration fees under §§ 46.2-694, 46.2-694.1, and 46.2-697 pursuant to enactments of the 2007
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Session of the General Assembly, shall be deposited into the Highway Maintenance and Operating
Fund

B. In the case of vehicles registered under the International Registration Plan, an amount that is
approximately equal to the net additional revenues generated by increases in the registration fees
under §§ 46.2-694, 46.2-694.1, and 46.2-697 that are in regard to such vehicles pursuant to enactments
of the 2007 Session of the General Assembly shall be deposited into the Highway and Maintenance
Operating Fund.

C. For purposes of this title, “net additional revenues” shall mean the additional revenues provided
pursuant to enactments of the 2007 Session of the General Assembly minus any refunds or remittances
required to be paid.

$ 46.2-755.1. Additional annual license fees in certain localities.

In addition to taxes and license fees imposed pursuant to § 46.2-752 and to all other taxes and fees
permitted by law, the Hampton Roads Transportation Authority established pursuant to § 33.1-391.7
and the Northern Virginia Transportation Authority established pursuant to § 15.2-4830 are authorized
to charge an additional non-refundable annual license fee in the amount of $10 for each vehicle
registered in any county or city that is embraced by the respective Authority, for such vehicles subject
to state registration fees under this Title. Such additional license fees shall not, however, be charged
Sfor any vehicle registered under the International Registration Plan developed by International
Registration Plan, Inc.

$ 46.2-755.2. Additional initial registration fees in certain localities.

In addition to taxes and license fees imposed pursuant to § 46.2-752 and to all other taxes and fees

and the Northern Virginia Transportation Authority established pursuant to § 15.2-4830 are authorized
to charge an additional non-refundable initial, one-time registration fee on any vehicle registered in
any county or city that is embraced by the respective Authority, for such vehicles subject to state
registration fees under this Title. The fee shall be imposed at a rate of 1% of the value of the vehicle at
the time the vehicle is first registered in such county or city by the owner of the vehicle. The value of the
vehicle shall be determined on the same basis as is or would be used to determine the basis for motor
vehicle sales and use tax as set forth in Chapter 24 (§ 58.1-2400 et seq.) of Title 58.1. The fee
-authorized by this section shall be assessed at the time the vehicle is first registered in the county or
city embraced by the respective Authority by the owner of the vehicle, and shall be imposed only once,
so long as the ownership of the vehicle upon which they are imposed remains unchanged.

The fee authorized by this section shall not be imposed upon (i) vehicles registered prior to January 1,
2008 unless the ownership of the vehicle changes on or after January 1, 2008; (ii) vehicles registered
under the International Registration Plan developed by International Registration Plan, Inc.; and (iii)
any vehicle for which the sole basis for imposing the fee would be a change in the ownership of the
vehicle due to (a) a gift to the spouse, son, or daughter of the transferor, (b) a transfer to a spouse, heir
under the will, or heir at law by intestate succession as a result of the death of the owner of the vehicle,
or (c) the addition or removal of a spouse.

§ 46.2-1135. Liquidated damages for violation of weight limits.

A. Any person violating any weight limit as provided in this chapter or in any permit issued pursuant to

38 of 64 6/7/2007 9:31 AM



Bill Tracking - 2007 session > Legislation

39 of 64

http://legl state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?07 1+ful+HB3202ER2

Article 18 (§ 46.2-1139 et seq.) of this chapter by the Department or its designee or by local authorities
pursuant to this chapter shall be assessed liquidated damages. The amount of those damages shall be:

Excess weight over
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2,000 pounds or less 1 cent per pound
2,001 to 4,000 pounds 3 cents per pound
4,001 to 8,000 pounds 7 cents per pound
8,001 to 12,000 pounds 12 cents per pound
12,001 pounds or more 20 cents per pound

All gross permit violations shall be assessed $.20 per pound over the permitted weight limit.

In addition to all damages assessed herein, for every violation of any weight limit as provided in this
chapter or in any permit issued pursuant to Article 18 (§ 46.2-1139 et seq.) of this chapter, there shall
be assessed additional liguidated damages of §20.
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If a person has no prior violations under the motor vehicle weight laws, and the excess weight does not
exceed 2;500 1,500 pounds, the general district court may waive the liquidated damages against such
person. Except as provided by § 46.2-1138, such assessment shall be entered by the court or by the
Department as a judgment for the Commonwealth, the entry of which shall constitute a lien upon the
overweight vehicle. Except as provided by § 46.2-1138, such sums shall be paid to the Department or
collected by the attorney for the Commonwealth and forwarded to the State Treasurer and allocated to
the fund appropriated for the construction and maintenance of state highways.

B. If the gross weight of the vehicle exceeds lawful limits by at least 25 percent but no more than 50
percent, the amount of the liquidated damages shall be two times the amount provided for in the
foregoing provisions of this section; if the gross weight of the vehicle exceeds lawful limits by more
than 50 percent, the amount of the liquidated damages shall be three times the amount provided for in
the foregoing provisions of this section. The provisions of this subsection shall not apply to pickup or
panel trucks.

C. The increases in the liqguidated damages under subsection A pursuant to enactments of the 2007
Session of the General Assembly shall not be applicable to any motor vehicle hauling forest or farm
products from the place where such products are first produced, cut, harvested, or felled to the location

where they are first processed. The amount of liquidated damages assessed against such motor vehicles
shall be:

Excess weight over

the prescribed or Assessed
permitted axle amount per
weight limits pound
4,000 pounds or less 1 cent per pound
4,001 to 8,000 pounds 10 cents per pound
8,001 to 12,000 pounds 20 cents per pound
12,001 pounds or more 30 cents per pound
Excess weight over Assessed
the prescribed gross amount per
weight 1limit pound
4,000 pounds or less 1 cent per pound
4,001 to 8,000 pounds 5 cents per pound
8,001 to 12,000 pounds 10 cents per pound
12,001 pounds or more 15 cents per pound

$ 46.2-1167.1. Additional fee permitted in certain counties and cities.

In addition to all other charges and fees permitted by law, the Hampton Roads Transportation
Authority and the Northern Virginia Transportation Authority are authorized to charge an additional
fee at the time of inspection in the amount of $10 for all vehicles for which an amount is permitted to be
charged for inspection pursuant to § 46.2-1167 in the area embraced by the respective Authority and
which shall be transmitted to the respective Authority.
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§ 58.1-605. To what extent and under what conditions cities and counties may levy local sales taxes;
collection thereof by Commonwealth and return of revenue to each city or county entitled thereto.

A. No county, city or town shall impose any local general sales or use tax or any local general retail
sales or use tax except as authorized by this section.

B. The council of any city and the governing body of any county may levy a general retail sales tax at
the rate of one percent to provide revenue for the general fund of such city or county. Such tax shall be
added to the rate of the state sales tax imposed by §§ 58.1-603 and 58.1-604 and shall be subject to all
the provisions of this chapter and the rules and regulations published with respect thereto. No discount
under § 58.1-622 shall be allowed on a local sales tax.

C. The council of any city and the governing body of any county desiring to impose a local sales tax
under this section may do so by the adoption of an ordinance stating its purpose and referring to this
section, and providing that such ordinance shall be effective on the first day of a month at least 60 days
after its adoption. A certified copy of such ordinance shall be forwarded to the Tax Commissioner so
that it will be received within five days after its adoption.

D. Any local sales tax levied under this section shall be administered and collected by the Tax
Commissioner in the same manner and subject to the same penalties as provided for the state sales tax.

E. All local sales tax moneys collected by the Tax Commissioner under this section shall be paid into
the state treasury to the credit of a special fund which is hereby created on the Comptroller's books
under the name "Collections of Local Sales Taxes." Such local sales tax moneys shall be credited to the
account of each particular city or county levying a local sales tax under this section. The basis of such
credit shall be the city or county in which the sales were made as shown by the records of the
Department and certified by it monthly to the Comptroller, namely, the city or county of location of
each place of business of every dealer paying the tax to the Commonwealth without regard to the city or
county of possible use by the purchasers. If a dealer has any place of business located in more than one
political subdivision by reason of the boundary line or lines passing through such place of business, the
amount of sales tax paid by such a dealer with respect to such place of business shall be treated for the
purposes of this section as follows: one-half shall be assignable to each political subdivision where two
are involved, one-third where three are involved, and one-fourth where four are involved.

F. As soon as practicable after the local sales tax moneys have been paid into the state treasury in any
month for the preceding month, the Comptroller shall draw his warrant on the Treasurer of Virginia in
the proper amount in favor of each city or county entitled to the monthly return of its local sales tax
moneys, and such payments shall be charged to the account of each such city or county under the
special fund created by this section. If errors are made in any such payment, or adjustments are
otherwise necessary, whether attributable to refunds to taxpayers, or to some other fact, the errors shall
be corrected and adjustments made in the payments for the next six months as follows: one-sixth of the
total adjustment shall be included in the payments for the next six months. In addition, the payment
shall include a refund of amounts erroneously not paid to the city or county and not previously refunded
during the three years preceding the discovery of the error. A correction and adjustment in payments
described in this subsection due to the misallocation of funds by the dealer shall be made within three
years of the date of the payment error.

G. Such payments to counties are subject to the qualification that in any county wherein is situated any
incorporated town constituting a special school district and operated as a separate school district under a
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town school board of three members appointed by the town council, the county treasurer shall pay into
the town treasury for general governmental purposes the proper proportionate amount received by him
in the ratio that the school age population of such town bears to the school age population of the entire
county. If the school age population of any town constituting a separate school district is increased by
the annexation of territory since the last preceding school age population census, such increase shall, for
the purposes of this section, be added to the school age population of such town as shown by the last
such census and a proper reduction made in the school age population of the county or counties from
which the annexed territory was acquired.

H. One-half of such payments to counties are subject to the further qualification, other than as set out in
subsection G above, that in any county wherein is situated any incorporated town not constituting a
separate special school district which has complied with its charter provisions providing for the election
of its council and mayor for a period of at least four years immediately prior to the adoption of the sales
tax ordinance, the county treasurer shall pay into the town treasury of each such town for general
governmental purposes the proper proportionate amount received by him in the ratio that the school age
population of each such town bears to the school age population of the entire county, based on the latest
statewide school census. The preceding requirement pertaining to the time interval between compliance
with election provisions and adoption of the sales tax ordinance shall not apply to a tier-city. If the
school age population of any such town not constituting a separate special school district is increased by
the annexation of territory or otherwise since the last preceding school age population census, such
increase shall, for the purposes of this section, be added to the school age population of such town as
shown by the last such census and a proper reduction made in the school age population of the county
or counties from which the annexed territory was acquired.

I. Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection H, the board of supervisors of a county may, in its
discretion, appropriate funds to any incorporated town not constituting a separate school district within
such county which has not complied with the provisions of its charter relating to the elections of its
council and mayor, an amount not to exceed the amount it would have received from the tax imposed
by this chapter if such election had been held.

J. It is further provided that if any incorporated town which would otherwise be eligible to receive funds
from the county treasurer under subsection G or H of this section be located in a county which does not
levy a general retail sales tax under the provisions of this law, such town may levy a general retail sales
tax at the rate of one percent to provide revenue for the general fund of the town, subject to all the
provisions of this section generally applicable to cities and counties. Any tax levied under the authority
of this subsection shall in no case continue to be levied on or after the effective date of a county
ordinance imposing a general retail sales tax in the county within which such town is located.

K. 1. Notwithstanding the other provisions of this chapter, the Hampton Roads Transportation
Authority and the Northern Virginia Transportation Authority may impose a retail sales tax at the rate
of 5% on (i) charges for separately stated labor or services in the repair of motor vehicles and (ii)
charges for the repair of a motor vehicle in cases in which the true object of the repair is a service
provided within a city or county embraced by the respective Authority.

2. The revenue generated and collected pursuant to the tax authorized under this subsection, less the
applicable portion of any refunds to taxpayers and after subtraction of the direct costs of
administration by the Department, shall be deposited and held in a special trust fund under the control
of the State Treasurer entitled "Special Sales and Use Tax Motor Vehicle Repair Fund." The State
Treasurer on a monthly basis shall distribute the amounts deposited in the special trust fund to the
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Hampton Roads Transportation Authority or the Northern Virginia Transportation Authority as
appropriate.

3. No discount under § 58.1-622 shall be allowed for the tax described under this subsection. Except as
otherwise provided herein, the tax under this subsection shall be administered and collected in the
same manner and subject to the same penalties as provided for the local retail sales tax.

§ 58.1-606. To what extent and under what conditions cities and counties may levy local use tax;
collection thereof by Commonwealth and return of revenues to the cities and counties.

A. The council of any city and the governing body of any county which has levied or may hereafter levy
a city or county sales tax under § 58.1-605 may levy a city or county use tax at the rate of one percent to
provide revenue for the general fund of such city or county. Such tax shall be added to the rate of the
state use tax imposed by this chapter and shall be subject to all the provisions of this chapter, and all
amendments thereof, and the rules and regulations published with respect thereto, except that no
discount under § 58.1-622 shall be allowed on a local use tax.

B. The council of any city and the governing body of any county desiring to impose a local use tax
under this section may do so in the manner following:

1. If the city or county has previously imposed the local sales tax authorized by § 58.1-605, the local use
tax may be imposed by the council or governing body by the adoption of a resolution by a majority of
all the members thereof, by a recorded yea and nay vote, stating its purpose and referring to this section,
and providing that the local use tax shall become effective on the first day of a month at least 60 days
after the adoption of the resolution. A certified copy of such resolution shall be forwarded to the Tax
Commissioner so that it will be received within five days after its adoption. The resolution authorized
by this paragraph may be adopted in the manner stated notwithstanding any other provision of law,
including any charter provision.

2. If the city or county has not imposed the local sales tax authorized by § 58.1-605, the local use tax
may be imposed by ordinance together with the local sales tax in the manner set out in subsections B
and C of § 58.1-605.

C. Any local use tax levied under this section shall be administered and collected by the Tax
Commissioner in the same manner and subject to the same penalties as provided for the state use tax.

D. The local use tax authorized by this section shall not apply to transactions to which the sales tax
applies, the situs of which for state and local sales tax purposes is the city or county of location of each
place of business of every dealer paying the tax to the Commonwealth without regard to the city or
county of possible use by the purchasers. However, the local use tax authorized by this section shall
apply to tangible personal property purchased without this Commonwealth for use or consumption
within the city or county imposing the local use tax, or stored within the city or county for use or
consumption, where the property would have been subject to the sales tax if it had been purchased
within this Commonwealth. The local use tax shall also apply to leases or rentals of tangible personal
property where the place of business of the lessor is without this Commonwealth and such leases or
rentals are subject to the state tax. Moreover, the local use tax shall apply in all cases in which the state
use tax applies.

E. Out-of-state dealers who hold certificates of registration to collect the use tax from their customers
for remittance to this Commonwealth shall, to the extent reasonably practicable, in filing their monthly
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use tax returns with the Tax Commissioner, break down their shipments into this Commonwealth by
cities and counties so as to show the city or county of destination. If, however, the out-of-state dealer is
unable accurately to assign any shipment to a particular city or county, the local use tax on the tangible
personal property involved shall be remitted to the Commonwealth by such dealer without attempting to
assign the shipment to any city or county.

F. Local use tax revenue shall be distributed among the cities and counties for which it is collected,
respectively, as shown by the records of the Department, and the procedure shall be the same as that
prescribed for distribution of local sales tax revenue under § 58.1-605. The local use tax revenue that is
not accurately assignable to a particular city or county shall be distributed monthly by the appropriate
state authorities among the cities and counties in this Commonwealth imposing the local use tax upon
the basis of taxable retail sales in the respective cities and counties in which the local sales and use tax
was in effect in the taxable month involved, as shown by the records of the Department, and computed
with respect to taxable retail sales as reflected by the amounts of the local sales tax revenue distributed
among such cities and counties, respectively, in the month of distribution. Notwithstanding any other
provision of this section, the Tax Commissioner shall develop a uniform method to distribute local use
tax. Any significant changes to the method of local use tax distribution shall be phased in over a
five-year period. Distribution information shall be shared with the affected localities prior to
implementation of the changes.

G. All local use tax revenue shall be used, applied or disbursed by the cities and counties as provided in
§ 58.1-605 with respect to local sales tax revenue.

H. 1. Notwithstanding the other provisions of this chapter, the Hampton Roads Transportation
Authority and the Northern Virginia Transportation Authority may impose a retail use tax at the rate of
5% on (i) charges for separately stated labor or services for the repair of motor vehicles and (ii)
charges for the repair of a motor vehicle in cases in which the true object of the repair is a service
provided within a city or county embraced by the respective Authority.

2. The revenue generated and collected pursuant to the tax authorized under this subsection, less the
applicable portion of any refunds to taxpayers and after subtraction of the direct costs of
administration by the Department, shall be deposited and held in a special trust fund under the control
of the State Treasurer entitled "Special Sales and Use Tax Motor Vehicle Repair Fund." The State
Treasurer on a monthly basis shall distribute the amounts deposited in the special trust fund to the
Hampton Roads Transportation Authority or the Northern Virginia Transportation Authority as
appropriate.

3. No discount under § 58.1-622 shall be allowed for the tax described under this subsection. Except as
otherwise provided herein, the tax under this subsection shall be administered and collected in the
same manner and subject to the same penalties as provided for the local retail use tax.

$ 58.1-625.1. Certain dealers required to separately state labor or service charges in the repair of
motor vehicles.

Any dealer or other person required to collect any tax imposed under this chapter, or pursuant to any
authority granted under this chapter, who is located in any county or city embraced by the Northern
Virginia Transportation Authority established under § 15.2-4830 or the Hampton Roads Transportation
Authority established under § 33.1-391.7, shall separately state on any bill, invoice, ticket, or other
billing statement the amount charged by such dealer or person for labor or services performed in the
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repair of motor vehicles. This section shall apply only in the counties or cities embraced by the
Northern Virginia Transportation Authority if the Authority is imposing the taxes authorized pursuant

$ 58.1-802.1. Regional congestion relief fee.

In addition to any other tax imposed under the provisions of this chapter, the Hampton Roads
Transportation Authority established pursuant to § 33.1-391.7 and the Northern Virginia
Transportation Authority established pursuant to § 15.2-4830 may impose a fee, delineated as the
"Regional congestion relief fee,” on each deed, instrument, or writing by which lands, tenements, or
other realty located in any county or city embraced by the respective Authority is sold and is granted,
assigned, transferred, or otherwise conveyed to or vested in the purchaser or any other person, by such
purchaser’s direction. The rate of the fee, when the consideration or value of the interest, whichever is
greater, equals or exceeds 3100, shall be $0.40 for each §100 or fraction thereof, exclusive of the value
of any lien or encumbrance remaining thereon at the time of the sale, whether such lien is assumed or
the realty is sold subject to such lien or encumbrance.

The fee imposed by this section shall be paid by the grantor, or any person who signs on behalf of the
grantor, of any deed, instrument, or writing subject to the fee imposed by this section.

Fees imposed by this section shall be collected pursuant to subsection B of § 58.1-802. However, the
compensation allowed to the clerk of the court under such subsection shall not be applicable with
regard to the fee collected under this section. The clerk shall return all fees collected pursuant to the
authority granted under this section to the Hampton Roads Transportation Authority or the Northern
Virginia Transportation Authority, as appropriate, as soon as practicable.

§ 58.1-811. Exemptions.

A. The taxes imposed by §§ 58.1-801 and 58.1-807 shall not apply to any deed conveying real estate or
lease of real estate:

1. To an incorporated college or other incorporated institution of learning not conducted for profit,
where such real estate is intended to be used for educational purposes and not as a source of revenue or
profit;

2. To an incorporated church or religious body or to the trustee or trustees of any church or religious
body, or a corporation mentioned in § 57-16.1, where such real estate is intended to be used exclusively
for religious purposes, or for the residence of the minister of any such church or religious body;

3. To the United States, the Commonwealth, or to any county, city, town, district or other political
subdivision of the Commonwealth;

4. To the Virginia Division of the United Daughters of the Confederacy;

5. To any nonstock corporation organized exclusively for the purpose of owning or operating a hospital
or hospitals not for pecuniary profit;

6. To a corporation upon its organization by persons in control of the corporation in a transaction which
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qualifies for nonrecognition of gain or loss pursuant to § 351 of the Internal Revenue Code as it exists
at the time of the conveyance;

7. From a corporation to its stockholders upon complete or partial liquidation of the corporation in a
transaction which qualifies for income tax treatment pursuant to § 331, 332, 333 or 337 of the Internal
Revenue Code as it exists at the time of liquidation;

8. To the surviving or new corporation, partnership or limited liability company upon merger or
consolidation of two or more corporations, partnerships or limited liability companies, or in a
reorganization within the meaning of § 368 (a) (1) (C) and (F) of the Internal Revenue Code as
amended;

9. To a subsidiary corporation from its parent corporation, or from a subsidiary corporation to a parent
corporation, if the transaction qualifies for nonrecognition of gain or loss under the Internal Revenue
Code as amended;

10. To a partnership or limited liability company, when the grantors are entitled to receive not less than
50 percent of the profits and surplus of such partnership or limited liability company; provided that the
transfer to a limited liability company is not a precursor to a transfer of control of the assets of the
company to avoid recordation taxes;

11. From a partnership or limited liability company, when the grantees are entitled to receive not less
than 50 percent of the profits and surplus of such partnership or limited liability company; provided that
the transfer from a limited liability company is not subsequent to a transfer of control of the assets of
the company to avoid recordation taxes;

12. To trustees of a revocable inter vivos trust, when the grantors in the deed and the beneficiaries of
the trust are the same persons, regardless of whether other beneficiaries may also be named in the trust
instrument, when no consideration has passed between the grantor and the beneficiaries; and to the
original beneficiaries of a trust from the trustees holding title under a deed in trust;

13. When the grantor is the personal representative of a decedent's estate or trustee under a will or inter
vivos trust of which the decedent was the settlor, other than a security trust defined in § 55-58.1, and the
sole purpose of such transfer is to comply with a devise or bequest in the decedent's will or to transfer
title to one or more beneficiaries after the death of the settlor in accordance with a dispositive provision
in the trust instrument; or

14. When the grantor is an organization exempt from taxation under § 501 (¢) (3) of the Internal
Revenue Code that is organized and operated primarily to acquire land and purchase materials to erect
or rehabilitate low-cost homes on such land, which homes are sold at cost to persons who otherwise
would be unable to afford to buy a home through conventional means, located in a county with a
population of not less than 28,500 and not more than 28,650 or a city with a population of not less than
66,000 and not more than 70,000.

B. The taxes imposed by §§ 58.1-803 and 58.1-804 shall not apply to any deed of trust or mortgage:

1. Given by an incorporated college or other incorporated institution of learning not conducted for
profit;

2. Given by the trustee or trustees of a church or religious body or given by an incorporated church or
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religious body, or given by a corporation mentioned in § 57-16.1;

3. Given by any nonstock corporation organized exclusively for the purpose of owning and/or operating
a hospital or hospitals not for pecuniary profit;

4. Given by any local governmental entity or political subdivision of the Commonwealth to secure a
debt payable to any other local governmental entity or political subdivision; or

5. Securing a loan made by an organization described in subdivision 14 of subsection A of this section.
C. The tax imposed by § 58.1-802 and the fees imposed by § 58.1-802.1 shall not apply to any:

1. Transaction described in subdivisions 6 through 13 of subsection A of this section;

2. Instrument or writing given to secure a debt;

3. Deed conveying real estate from an incorporated college or other incorporated institution of learning
not conducted for profit;

4. Deed conveying real estate from the United States, the Commonwealth or any county, city, town,
district or other political subdivision thereof;

5. Conveyance of real estate to the Commonwealth or any county, city, town, district or other political
subdivision thereof, if such political unit is required by law to reimburse the parties taxable pursuant to
§ 58.1-802 or subject to the fee under § 58.1-802.1; or

6. Deed conveying real estate from the trustee or trustees of a church or religious body or from an
incorporated church or religious body, or from a corporation mentioned in § 57-16.1.

D. No recordation tax shall be required for the recordation of any deed of gift between a grantor or
grantors and a grantee or grantees when no consideration has passed between the parties. Such deed
shall state therein that it is a deed of gift.

or any county, city, town, district or other political subdivision of the Commonwealth.

F. The taxes and fees imposed by §§ 58.1-801, 58.1-802, 58.1-802.1, 58.1-807, 58.1-808 and 58.1-814
shall not apply to (i) any deed of gift conveying real estate or any interest therein to The Nature
Conservancy or (ii) any lease of real property or any interest therein to The Nature Conservancy, where
such deed of gift or lease of real estate is intended to be used exclusively for the purpose of preserving
wilderness, natural or open space areas.

G. The words "trustee" or "trustees," as used in subdivision 2 of subsection A, subdivision 2 of
subsection B, and subdivision 6 of subsection C, include the trustees mentioned in § 57-8 and the
ecclesiastical officers mentioned in § 57-16.

H. No recordation tax levied pursuant to this chapter shall be levied on the release of a contractual right,
if the release is contained within a single deed that performs more than one function, and at least one of
the other functions performed by the deed is subject to the recordation tax.

I. No recordation tax levied pursuant to this chapter shall be levied on a deed, lease, easement, release,
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or other document recorded in connection with a concession pursuant to the Public-Private
Transportation Act of 1995 (§ 56-556 et seq.) or similar federal law.

$ 58.1-815.4. Distribution of recordation tax for certain transportation-related purposes.

Effective July 1, 2008, of the state recordation taxes imposed pursuant to §§ 58.1-801 and 58.1-803, the
revenues collected each fiscal year from $0.03 of the total tax imposed under each section shall be
deposited by the Comptroller as follows:

1. The revenues collected from $0.02 of the total tax shall be deposited into the Commonwealth Mass
Transit Fund pursuant to subdivision A 4 e of § 58.1-638, and

2. The revenues collected from 30.01 of the total tax shall be deposited into the Highway Maintenance
and Operating Fund.

Article 4.1.
Motor Vehicle Fuel Sales Tax in Certain Localities.

$ 58.1-1724.2. Rules and regulations, bracket system.

The Tax Commissioner shall promulgate rules and regulations for the registration of dealers and the
procedures for filing returns for the payment of the tax imposed pursuant to this article. Such
regulations shall include provisions for a bracket system, designed so that the tax will appear on the
fuel pump as a part of the total cost of a unit of fuel, whether the unit is a gallon or other measure. The
bracket system shall state the tax per unit measure in tenths of a cent, and shall be in increments of no
more than 2 1/2 cents.

§ 58.1-1724.3. Sales tax on fuel in certain localities.

A. In addition to all other taxes, fees, and other charges imposed on fuels subject to tax under Chapter
22 (3 58.1-2200 et seq.) of this title, the Hampton Roads Transportation Authority may impose a sales
tax of 2% of the retail price of such fuels sold at retail within any county or city embraced by the
Authority. The Commissioner shall transfer the revenues collected to the Hampton Roads
Transportation Authority established under § 33.1-391.7. As used in this section "sold at retail” means
a sale to a consumer or to any person for any purpose other than resale.

B. The tax imposed under this section shall be subject to the provisions of the Virginia Retail Sales and
Use Tax Act (§ 58.1-600 et seq.), except that the exemption provided for motor vehicle fuels under §
58.1-609.1, and the bracket system provided in such act, shall not be applicable.

$ 58.1-1724.4. Exclusion from professional license tax.

The amount of the tax imposed by this article and collected by a dealer in any taxable year shall be
excluded from gross receipts for purposes of any tax imposed under Chapter 37 (§ 58.1-3700 et seq.) of
this title.

§ 58.1-1724.5. Refund of motor vehicle fuel sales tax.

Anyone who purchases fuel (i) that is taxed under the provisions of § 58.1-1724.3 and (ii) upon which a
refund is granted for motor fuels taxes paid pursuant to the provisions of Chapter 22 (§ 58.1-2200 et
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seq.), may file a claim for a refund of taxes paid under this article within 30 days after receipt of a
refund under the above chapter on forms and under regulations adopted by the Department of
Taxation.

§ 58.1-1724.6. Disposition of tax revenues.

All taxes paid to the Commissioner pursuant to this article, after subtraction of the direct costs of
administration by the Department, shall be transferred to the Hampton Roads Transportation Authority
on a monthly basis.

$ 58.1-1724.7. Disclosure of information; penalties.

For purposes of administering the tax levied under this article, the Commissioner, upon written
request, is authorized to provide to the finance officer of the Hampton Roads Transportation Authority,
such information as may be necessary for the performance his of official duties. Any person to whom
information is provided pursuant to this section shall be subject to the prohibitions and penalties
prescribed in § 58.1-3.

§ 58.1-2217. Taxes levied; rate.

A. There is hereby levied a tax at the rate of seventeen and one-half cents per gallon on gasoline and
gasohol.

B. There is hereby levied a tax at the rate of sixteen seventeen and one-half cents per gallon on diesel
fuel.

C. Blended fuel that contains gasoline shall be taxed at the rate levied on gasoline. Blended fuel that
contains diesel fuel shall be taxed at the rate levied on diesel fuel.

D. There is hereby levied a tax at the rate of five cents per gallon on aviation gasoline. Any person,
whether or not licensed under this chapter, who uses, acquires for use, sells or delivers for use in
highway vehicles any aviation gasoline shall be liable for the tax at the rate of seventeen and one-half
cents per gallon, along with any penalties and interest that may accrue.

E. There is hereby levied a tax at the rate of five cents per gallon on aviation jet fuel purchased or
acquired for use by a user of aviation fuel other than an aviation consumer. There is hereby levied a tax
at the rate of five cents per gallon upon the first 100,000 gallons of aviation jet fuel, excluding bonded
aviation jet fuel, purchased or acquired for use by any aviation consumer in any fiscal year. There is
hereby levied a tax at the rate of one-half cent per gallon on all aviation jet fuel, excluding bonded
aviation jet fuel, purchased or acquired for use by an aviation consumer in excess of 100,000 gallons in
any fiscal year. Any person, whether or not licensed under this chapter, who uses, acquires for use, sells
or delivers for use in highway vehicles any aviation jet fuel taxable under this chapter shall be liable for
the tax imposed at the rate of sixteen seventeen and one-half cents per gallon, along with any penalties
and interest that may accrue.

F. In accordance with § 62.1-44.34:13, a storage tank fee is imposed on each gallon of gasoline, aviation
gasoline, diesel fuel (including dyed diesel fuel), blended fuel, and heating oil sold and delivered or
used in the Commonwealth.

§ 58.1-2249. Tax on alternative fuel.

49 of 64 6/7/2007 9:31 AM



Bill Tracking - 2007 session > Legislation http://legl .state.va.us/cgi-bin/legpS04.exe?07 1+ful +HB3202ER2

50 of 64

A. There is hereby levied a tax at the rate of sixteen seventeen and one-half cents per gallon on liquid
alternative fuel used to operate a highway vehicle by means of a vehicle supply tank that stores fuel
only for the purpose of supplying fuel to operate the vehicle. There is hereby levied a tax at a rate
equivalent to sixteen seventeen and one-half cents per gallon on all other alternative fuel used to operate
a highway vehicle. The Commissioner shall determine the equivalent rate applicable to such other
alternative fuels.

B. In addition to any tax imposed by this article, there is hereby levied an annual license tax of fifty
dollars per vehicle on each highway vehicle that is fueled from a private source if the alternative fuels
tax levied under this article has not been paid on fuel used in the vehicle. If such a highway vehicle is
not in operation by January 1 of any year, the license tax shall be reduced by one-twelfth for each
complete month which shall have elapsed since the beginning of such year.

§ 58.1-2289. Disposition of tax revenue generally

A. Unless otherwise provided in this section, all taxes and fees, including civil penalties, collected by
the Commissioner pursuant to this chapter, less a reasonable amount to be allocated for refunds, shall
be promptly paid into the state treasury and shall constitute special funds within the Commonwealth
Transportation Fund. Any balances remaining in these funds at the end of the year shall be available for
use in subsequent years for the purposes set forth in this chapter, and any interest income on such funds
shall accrue to these funds. Except as provided in § 33.1-23.03:1, no portion of the revenue derived
from taxes collected pursuant to §§ 58.1-2217, 58.1-2249 or § 58.1-2701, and remaining after authorized
refunds for nonhighway use of fuel, shall be used for any purpose other than the construction,
reconstruction or maintenance of the roads and projects comprising the State Highway System, the
Interstate System and the secondary system of state highways and expenditures directly and necessarily
required for such purposes, including the retirement of revenue bonds.

Revenues collected under this chapter may be also used for (i) contributions toward the construction,
reconstruction or maintenance of streets in cities and towns of such sums as may be provided by law
and (i1) expenditures for the operation and maintenance of the Department of Transportation, the
Department of Rail and Public Transportation, the Department of Aviation, the Virginia Port Authority,
and the Department of Motor Vehicles as may be provided by law.

The Governor is hereby authorized to transfer out of such fund an amount necessary for the inspection
of gasoline and motor grease measuring and distributing equipment, and for the inspection and analysis
of gasoline for purity.

B. The Except as provided in subsection F, the tax collected on each gallon of aviation fuel sold and
delivered or used in this Commonwealth, less refunds, shall be paid into a special fund of the state
treasury. Proceeds of this special fund within the Commonwealth Transportation Fund shall be
disbursed upon order of the Department of Aviation, on warrants of the Comptroller, to defray the cost
of the administration of the laws of this Commonwealth relating to aviation, for the construction,
maintenance and improvement of airports and landing fields to which the public now has or which it is
proposed shall have access, and for the promotion of aviation in the interest of operators and the public
generally.

C. One half cent of the tax collected on each gallon of fuel on Wthh the a refund has been pa1d at-the

gasolme gasohol diesel fuel, blended fuel or alternative fuel for fuel consumed in tractors and
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unlicensed equipment used for agricultural purposes shall be paid into a special fund of the state
treasury, known as the Virginia Agricultural Foundation Fund, to be disbursed to make certain refunds
and defray the costs of the research and educational phases of the agricultural program, including
supplemental salary payments to certain employees at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State
University, the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services and the Virginia Truck and
Ornamentals Research Station, including reasonable expenses of the Virginia Agricultural Council.

D. One and one-half cents of the tax collected on each gallon of fuel used to propel a commercial
watercraft upon which a refund has been paid shall be paid to the credit of the Game Protection Fund of
the state treasury to be made available to the Board of Game and Inland Fisheries until expended for the
purposes provided generally in subsection C of § 29.1-701, including acquisition, construction,
improvement and maintenance of public boating access areas on the public waters of this
Commonwealth and for other activities and purposes of direct benefit and interest to the boating public
and for no other purpose. However, one and one-half cents per gallon on fuel used by commercial
fishing, oystering, clamming, and crabbing boats shall be paid to the Department of Transportation to
be used for the construction, repair, improvement and maintenance of the public docks of this
Commonwealth used by said commercial watercraft. Any expenditures for the acquisition, construction,
improvement and maintenance of the public docks shall be made according to a plan developed by the
Virginia Marine Resources Commission.

From the tax collected pursuant to the provisions of this chapter from the sales of gasoline used for the
propelling of watercraft, after deduction for lawful refunds, there shall be paid into the state treasury for
use by the Marine Resources Commission, the Virginia Soil and Water Conservation Board, the State
Water Control Board, and the Commonwealth Transportation Board to (i) improve the public docks as
specified in this section, (ii) improve commercial and sports fisheries in Virginia's tidal waters, (iii)
make environmental improvements including, without limitation, fisheries management and habitat
enhancement in the Chesapeake and its tributaries, and (iv) further the purposes set forth in § 33.1-223,
a sum as established by the General Assembly.

E. Notwithstanding other provisions of this section, there shall be transferred from moneys collected
pursuant to this section to a special fund within the Commonwealth Transportation Fund in the state
treasury, to be used to meet the necessary expenses of the Department of Motor Vehicles, an amount
equal to one percent of a sum to be calculated as follows: the tax revenues collected pursuant to this
chapter, at the tax rates in effect on December 31, 1986, less refunds authorized by this chapter and less
taxes collected for aviation fuels.

F. The additional revenues, less any additional refunds authorized, generated by increases in the rates
of taxes under this chapter pursuant to enactments of the 2007 Session of the General Assembly shall
be collected pursuant to Article 4 of this chapter and deposited into the Highway Maintenance and
Operating Fund.

$ 58.1-2402.1. Local rental car transportation fee.

A. In addition to all other taxes, fees, and other charges imposed under law, the Hampton Roads
Transportation Authority established pursuant to § 33.1-391.7 and the Northern Virginia
Transportation Authority established pursuanrt to § 15.2-4830, may impose a fee of 2% of the gross
proceeds on the daily rental of a vehicle in any county or city embraced by the respective Authority
wherein the daily rental of the vehicle occurs, regardless of whether such vehicle is required to be
licensed in the Commonwealth. The fee shall not be levied upon a rental to a person for re-rental as an
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established business or part of an established business or incidental or germane to such business.

B. After subtraction of the direct costs of administration by the Department, the Commissioner shall
transfer the revenues collected pursuant to this section to the Hampton Roads Transportation Authority
and the Northern Virginia Transportation Authority, as appropriate.

C. Any and all fees imposed pursuant to this section shall be collected by the Department of Motor
Vehicles. The Commissioner shall maintain records of the fee imposed and collected by locality.

D. The fee imposed pursuant to the authority granted under this section shall be implemented, enforced,
and collected in the same manner that rental taxes under this chapter are implemented, enforced, and
collected.

No tax shall be imposed as provided in § 58.1-2402 or 58.1-2402.1 if the vehicle is:

1. Sold to, rented or used by the United States government or any governmental agency thereof;
2. Sold to, rented or used by the Commonwealth of Virginia or any political subdivision thereof;
3. Registered in the name of a volunteer fire department or rescue squad not operated for profit;

4, Registered to any member of the Mattaponi, Pamunkey, or Chickahominy Indian tribes or any other
recognized Indian tribe of the Commonwealth living on the tribal reservation;

5. Transferred incidental to repossession under a recorded lien and ownership is transferred to the
lienholder;

6. A manufactured home permanently attached to real estate and included in the sale of real estate;

7. A gift to the spouse, son, or daughter of the transferor. With the exception of a gift to a spouse, this
exemption shall not apply to any unpaid obligation assumed by the transferee incidental to the transfer;

8. Transferred from an individual or partnership to a corporation or limited liability company or from a
corporation or limited liability company to an individual or partnership if the transfer is incidental to the
formation, organization or dissolution of a corporation or limited liability company in which the
individual or partnership holds the majority interest;

9. Transferred from a wholly owned subsidiary to the parent corporation or from the parent corporation
to a wholly owned subsidiary;

10. Being registered for the first time in this Commonwealth and the applicant holds a valid, assignable
title or registration issued to him by another state or a branch of the United States Armed Forces and (1)
has owned the vehicle for longer than 12 months or (ii) has owned the vehicle for less than 12 months
and provides evidence of a sales tax paid to another state. However, when a vehicle has been purchased
by the applicant within the last 12 months and the applicant is unable to provide evidence of a sales tax
paid to another state, the applicant shall pay the Virginia sales tax based on the fair market value of the
vehicle at the time of registration in Virginia;

11. Titled in a Virginia or non-Virginia motor vehicle dealer's name for resale;
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12. A motor vehicle having seats for more than seven passengers and sold to an urban or suburban bus
line the majority of whose passengers use the buses for traveling a distance of less than 40 miles, one
way, on the same day;

13. Purchased in the Commonwealth by a nonresident and a Virginia title is issued for the sole purpose
of recording a lien against the vehicle if the vehicle will be registered in a state other than Virginia;

14. A motor vehicle designed for the transportation of 10 or more passengers, purchased by and for the
use of a church conducted not for profit;

15. Loaned or leased to a private nonprofit institution of learning, for the sole purpose of use in the
instruction of driver's education when such education is a part of such school's curriculum for full-time
students;

16. Sold to an insurance company or local government group self-insurance pool, created pursuant to §
15.2-2703, for the sole purpose of disposition when such company has paid the registered owner of such
vehicle a total loss claim;

17. Owned and used for personal or official purposes by accredited consular or diplomatic officers of
foreign governments, their employees or agents, and members of their families, if such persons are
nationals of the state by which they are appointed and are not citizens of the United States;

18. A self-contained mobile computerized axial tomography scanner sold to, rented or used by a
nonprofit hospital or a cooperative hospital service organization as described in § 501 (e) of the United
States Internal Revenue Code;

19. A motor vehicle having seats for more than seven passengers and sold to a restricted common
carrier or common carrier of passengers;

20. Beginning July 1, 1989, a self-contained mobile unit designed exclusively for human diagnostic or
therapeutic service, sold to, rented to, or used by a nonprofit hospital, or a cooperative hospital service
organization as described in § 501 (e) of the United States Internal Revenue Code, or a nonprofit
corporation as defined in § 501 (c) (3) of the Internal Revenue Code, established for research in,
diagnosis of, or therapy for human ailments;

21. Transferred, as a gift or through a sale to an organization exempt from taxation under § 501 (c) (3)
of the Internal Revenue Code, provided the motor vehicle is not titled and tagged for use by such
organization;

22. A motor vehicle sold to an organization which is exempt from taxation under § 501 (c) (3) of the
Internal Revenue Code and which is organized for the primary purpose of distributing food, clothing,
medicines and other necessities of life to, and providing shelter for, needy persons in the United States
and throughout the world;

semitrailers not designed or used to carry property and vehicles registered under § 46.2-700, with a
gross vehicle weight rating or gross combination weight rating of 26,001 pounds or more, in which case
no tax shall be imposed pursuant to subdivisions 1 and 3 of subsection A of § 58.1-2402;

24, Transferred to the trustees of a revocable inter vivos trust, when the individual titleholder of a
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Virginia titled motor vehicle and the beneficiaries of the trust are the same persons, regardless of
whether other beneficiaries of the trust may also be named in the trust instrument, when no
consideration has passed between the titleholder and the beneficiaries; and transferred to the original
titleholder from the trustees holding title to the motor vehicle;

25. Transferred to trustees of a revocable inter vivos trust, when the owners of the vehicle and the
beneficiaries of the trust are the same persons, regardless of whether other beneficiaries may also be
named in the trust instrument, or transferred by trustees of such a trust to beneficiaries of the trust
following the death of the grantor, when no consideration has passed between the grantor and the
beneficiaries in either case;

26. Sold by a vehicle's lessor to its lessee upon the expiration of the term of the vehicle's lease, if the
lessee is a natural person and this natural person has paid the tax levied pursuant to this chapter with
respect to the vehicle when he leased it from the lessor, and if the lessee presents an original copy of the
lease upon request of the Department of Motor Vehicles or other evidence that the sales tax has been
paid to the Commonwealth by the lessee purchasing the vehicle; or

27. Titled in the name of a deceased person and transferred to the spouse or heir, or under the will, of
such deceased person.

A. Al Fxcept as provided in § 58.1-2402.1 funds collected hereunder by the Commissioner shall be
forthwith paid into the state treasury. Except as otherwise provided in § 58.1-2402.1 and in this section,
these funds shall constitute special funds within the Commonwealth Transportation Fund. Any balances
remaining in these funds at the end of the year shall be available for use in subsequent years for the
purposes set forth in this chapter, and any interest income on such funds shall accrue to these funds. The
revenue so derived, after refunds have been deducted, is hereby allocated for the construction,
reconstruction and maintenance of highways and the regulation of traffic thereon and for no other
purpose. However, (i) all funds collected pursuant to the provisions of this chapter from manufactured
homes, as defined in § 46.2-100, shall be distributed to the city, town, or county wherein such
manufactured home is to be situated as a dwelling; (ii) all funds collected from the additional tax
imposed by subdivision A 4 of § 58.1-2402 on the rental of daily rental vehicles shall be distributed
quarterly to the city, town, or county wherein such vehicle was delivered to the rentee; (iii) effective
January 1, 1987, an amount equivalent to the net additional revenues generated by enactments of the
1986 Special Session of the Virginia General Assembly which amended §§ 46.2-694, 46.2-697,
58.1-2401, 58.1-2402 and this section shall be distributed to and paid into the Transportation Trust
Fund, a special fund within the Commonwealth Transportation Fund, and are hereby appropriated to the
Commonwealth Transportation Board for transportation needs; (iv) except as otherwise provided in
clause (iii) of this sentence, all moneys collected from the tax on the gross proceeds from the rental in
Virginia of any motor vehicle pursuant to subdivision A 3 of § 58.1-2402 at the tax rate in effect on
December 31, 1986, shall be paid by the Commissioner into the state treasury and shall be paid into the
Rail Enhancement Fund established by § 33.1-221.1:1.1; and (v) all additional revenues resulting from

Assembly shall be used to pay the debt service on the bonds issued by the Virginia Public Building
Authority for the Statewide Agencies Radio System (STARS) for the Department of State Police
pursuant to the authority granted by the 2004 Session of the General Assembly.

B. As provided in subsection A of § 58.1-638, of the funds becoming part of the Transportation Trust
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Fund pursuant to clause (iii) of subsection A of this section, an aggregate of 4.2 percent shall be set
aside as the Commonwealth Port Fund; an aggregate of 2.4 percent shall be set aside as the
Commonwealth Airport Fund; and an aggregate of 14.5 percent in fiscal year 1998-1999 and 14.7
percent in fiscal year 1999-2000 and thereafter shall be set aside as the Commonwealth Mass Transit
Fund.

9 58.1-2531. Distribution of certain revenue.

A. Beginning with the Commonwealth's fiscal year beginning on July 1, 2008 and for each fiscal year
thereafter, an amount equal to one-third of all revenues collected by the Commission in the most
recently ended fiscal year from the tax imposed under this chapter, less one-third of the total amount of
such tax refunded in the most recently ended fiscal year, shall be deposited by the Comptroller to the
Priority Transportation Fund established under § 33.1-23.03:8.

B. For purposes of the Comptroller's deposits under this section, the Commissioner of the Bureau of
Insurance shall, no later than July 15 of each year, provide a written certification to the Comptroller
that reports the amount to be deposited pursuant to subsection A. After the required amount has been
deposited as provided in subsection A, all remaining revenues from the tax imposed under this chapter
shall be deposited into the general fund of the state treasury. The Comptroller shall make all deposits
under this section as soon as practicable.

§ 58.1-2701. Amount of tax.

A. Except as provided in subsection B, every motor carrier shall pay a road tax equivalent to nineteen
and-one-half eents 30.2/ per gallon calculated on the amount of motor fuel, diesel fuel or liquefied
gases (which would not exist as liquids at a temperature of sixty degrees Fahrenheit and a pressure of
14.7 pounds per square inch absolute), used in its operations within the Commonwealth.

The tax imposed by this chapter shall be in addition to all other taxes of whatever character imposed on
a motor carrier by any other provision of law.

B. In lieu of the tax imposed in subsection A, motor carriers registering qualified highway vehicles that
are not registered under the International Registration Plan shall pay a fee of $1+089 $/50 per year for
each qualified highway vehicle. The fee is due and payable when the vehicle registration fees are paid
pursuant to the provisions of Article 7 (§ 46.2-685 et seq.) of Chapter 6 of Title 46.2.

If a vehicle becomes a qualified highway vehicle before the end of its registration period, the fee due at
the time the vehicle becomes a qualified highway vehicle shall be prorated monthly to the registration
expiration month. Fees paid under this subsection shall not be refunded unless a full refund of the
registration fee paid is authorized by law.

C. All taxes and fees paid under the provisions of this chapter shall be credited to the Highway
Maintenance and Operating Fund, a special fund within the Commonwealth Transportation Fund.

§ 58.1-2706. Credit for payment of motor fuel, diesel fuel or liquefied gases tax.

A. Every motor carrier subject to the road tax shall be entitled to a credit on such tax equivalent to
sixteen seventeen and one-half cents per gallon on all motor fuel, diesel fuel and liquefied gases
purchased by such carrier within the Commonwealth for use in its operations either within or without
the Commonwealth and upon which the motor fuel, diesel fuel or liquefied gases tax imposed by the
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laws of the Commonwealth has been paid by such carrier. Evidence of the payment of such tax in such
form as may be required by, or is satisfactory to, the Department shall be furnished by each carrier
claiming the credit herein allowed.

B. When the amount of the credit to which any motor carrier is entitled for any quarter exceeds the
amount of the tax for which such carrier is liable for the same quarter, the excess may: (i) be allowed as
a credit on the tax for which such carrier would be otherwise liable for any of the eight succeeding
quarters or (ii) be refunded, upon application, duly verified and presented and supported by such
evidence as may be satisfactory to the Department.

C. The Department may allow a refund upon receipt of proper application and review. It shall be at the
discretion of the Department to determine whether an audit is required.

D. The refund may be allowed without a formal hearing if the amount of refund is agreed to by the
applicant. Otherwise, a formal hearing on the application shall be held by the Department after notice of
not less than ten days to the applicant and the Attorney General.

E. Whenever any refund is ordered it shall be paid out of the Highway Maintenance and Construction
Fund.

F. Whenever a person operating under lease to a motor carrier to perform transport services on behalf of
the carrier purchases motor fuel, diesel fuel or liquefied gases relating to such services, such payments
or purchases may, at the discretion of the Department, be considered payment or purchases by the
carrier.

§ 58.1-3221.2. Classification of certain commercial and industrial real property and taxation of such
property by certain localities included in the Northern Virginia Transportation Authority and the
Hampton Roads Transportation Authority.

A. Beginning January 1, 2008, and solely for the purposes of imposing the tax authorized pursuant to
this section, in the counties and cities that are embraced by the Northern Virginia Transportation
Authority and the Hampton Roads Transportation Authority, all real property used for or zoned fo
permit commercial or industrial uses is hereby declared to be a separate class of real property for local
taxation. Such classification of real property shall exclude all residential uses and all multifamily
residential uses, including but not limited to single family residential units, cooperatives,
condominiums, townhouses, apartments, or homes in a subdivision when leased on a unit by unit basis
even though these units may be part of a larger building or parcel of real estate containing more than
four residential units.

B. In addition to all other taxes and fees permitted by law, (i) the governing body of any locality
embraced by the Northern Virginia Transportation Authority may, by ordinance, annually impose on
all real property in the locality specially classified in subsection A: an amount of real property tax, in
addition to such amount otherwise authorized by law, at a rate not to exceed 30.25 per $§100 of
assessed value as the governing body may, by ordinance, impose upon the annual assessed value of all
real property used for or zoned to permit commercial or industrial uses, and (ii) the governing body of
any locality embraced by the Hampton Roads Transportation Authority may, by ordinance, annually
impose on all real property in the locality specially classified in subsection A: an amount of real
property tax, in addition to such amount otherwise authorized by law, at a rate not to exceed $0.10 per
8100 of assessed value as the governing body may, by ordinance, impose upon the annual assessed
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value of all real property used for or zoned to permit commercial or industrial uses. The authority
granted in this subsection shall be subject to the following conditions:

(1) Upon appropriation, all revenues generated from the additional real property tax imposed shall be
used exclusively for transportation purposes that benefit the locality imposing the tax, and

(2) The additional real property tax imposed shall be levied, administered, enforced, and collected in
the same manner as set forth in Subtitle 11l of Title 58.1 for the levy, administration, enforcement, and
collection of local taxes. In addition, the local assessor shall separately assess and set forth upon the
locality’s land book the fair market value of that portion of property that is defined as a separate class
of real property for local taxation in accordance with the provisions of this section.

C. Beginning January 1, 2008, in lieu of the authority set forth in subsections A and B above and solely
for the purposes of imposing the tax authorized pursuant to this section, in the counties and cities
embraced by the Northern Virginia Transportation Authority and the Hampton Roads Transportation
Authority, all real property used for or zoned to permit commercial or industrial uses is hereby
declared to be a separate class of real property for local taxation. Such classification of real property
shall exclude all residential uses and all multifamily residential uses, including but not limited to single
family residential units, cooperatives, condominiums, townhouses, apartments, or homes in a
subdivision when leased on a unit by unit basis even though these units may be part of a larger building
or parcel of real estate containing more than four residential units.

D. In addition to all other taxes and fees permitted by law, (i) the governing body of any locality
embraced by the Northern Virginia Transportation Authority may, by ordinance, create within its
boundaries, one or more special regional transportation tax districts and, thereafter, may, by
ordinance, impose upon the real property located in special regional transportation tax districts
specially classified in subsection C within such special regional transportation tax districts: an amount
of real property tax, in addition to such amounts otherwise authorized by law, at a rate not to exceed
80.25 per 8100 of assessed value as the governing body may, by ordinance, impose upon the annual
assessed value of all real property used for or zoned to permit commercial or industrial uses, and, (ii)
the governing body of any locality embraced by the Hampton Roads Transportation Authority may, by
ordinance, create within its boundaries, one or more special regional transportation tax districts and,
thereafter, may, by ordinance, impose upon the real property specially classified in subsection C within
such special regional transportation tax districts: an amount of real property tax, in addition to such
amounts otherwise authorized by law, at a rate not to exceed 30.10 per $100 of assessed value as the
governing body may, by ordinance, impose upon the annual assessed value of all real property used for
or zoned to permit commercial or industrial uses. The authority granted in this subsection shall be
subject to the following conditions:

(1) Notwithstanding any other provisions of law to the contrary, upon appropriation, all revenues
generated from the additional real property taxes imposed in accordance with subsection C and this
subsection shall be used for transportation purposes that benefit the special regional transportation tax
district to which such revenue is attributable;

(2) Any local ordinance adopted in accordance with the provisions of subsection C and this subsection
shall include the requirement that the additional real property taxes so authorized are to be imposed

annually in accordance with applicable law,

(3) Any locality that imposes the additional real property taxes set forth in subsections A and B shall
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not be permitted to also impose the additional real property taxes set forth in subsection C and this
subsection. In addition, any locality electing to impose the additional real property taxes on all real
property located in such locality that is specially classified in subsections A and B must do so in the
manner prescribed in subsections A and B and not by creation of a special transportation tax district as
set forth in subsection C and this subsection. The creation of such special regional transportation tax
districts shall not, however, affect the authority of a locality to establish tax districts pursuant to other
provisions of law;,

(4) The total revenues generated from the additional real property taxes imposed in accordance with
subsection C and this subsection shall not be less than 85% of the revenues estimated to be generated
when imposing the additional real property taxes in accordance with subsections A and B at the rate of
80.25 per 8100 of assessed value in any locality embraced by the Northern Virginia Transportation
Authority and at the rate of 80. 10 per 8100 of assessed value in any locality embraced by the Hampton
Roads Transportation Authority;, and

(3) The additional real property taxes imposed pursuant to subsection C and this subsection shall be
levied, administered, enforced, and collected, in the same manner as set forth in Subtitle III of Title
58.1 for the levy, administration, enforcement, and collection of all local taxes. In addition, the local
assessor shall separately assess and set forth upon the locality’s land book the fair market value of that
portion of property that is defined as separate class of real property for local taxation in accordance
with the provisions of this section.

$ 58.1-3825.1. Additional transient occupancy tax in certain counties and cities in Northern Virginia.

In addition to such transient occupancy taxes as are authorized by this chapter, the Northern Virginia
tax at the rate of 2% of the amount of charge for the occupancy of any room or space occupied
provided that such room or space is located within a county or city embraced by the Authority. Such
revenues shall be used according to the provisions of § 15.2-4838.1.

2. That the Commonwealth Transportation Board is authorized to issue bonds to fund transportation
projects throughout the Commonwealth as follows:

§ 1. Title. This act shall be known and may be cited as the "Commonwealth Transportation Capital
Projects Bond Act of 2007."

$ 2. The Commonwealth Transportation Board is hereby authorized, by and with the consent of the
Governor, to issue, pursuant to the provisions of the State Revenue Bond Act (§ 33.1-267 et seq. of the
Code of Virginia) as amended from time to time, revenue obligations of the Commonwealth to be
designated "Commonwealth of Virginia Transportation Capital Projects Revenue Bonds, Series ....." at
one or more times in an aggregate principal amount not to exceed 83 billion, after all costs; provided
that the aggregate principal amount issued in any one fiscal year shall not exceed $300 million,
excluding any refunding bonds. If; the aggregate principal amount issued in any fiscal year is less than
$300 million, then the amount by which such issuance is less than $300 million may be issued in any
subsequent fiscal year in addition to the $300 million authorized in the subsequent fiscal year. The

Code of Virginia.

¢ 3. The net proceeds of the Bonds shall be used exclusively for the purpose of providing funds for
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paying the costs incurred or to be incurred for construction or funding of transportation projects
pursuant to § 33.1-23.4:01 of the Code of Virginia, including but not limited to environmental and
engineering studies, rights-of-way acquisition, improvements to all modes of transportation,
acquisition, construction and related improvements, and any financing costs and other financing
expenses. Such costs may include the payment of interest on the Bonds for a period during construction
and not exceeding one year after completion of construction of the projects.

$ 4. The proceeds of the Bonds, including any premium received on the sale thereof, shall be made
available by the Commonwealth Transportation Board to pay costs of the projects and, where
appropriate, may be paid to any authority, locality, commission, or other entity for the purposes of
paying for costs of the projects. The proceeds of the Bonds may be used together with any federal,
local, or private funds that may be made available for such purpose. The proceeds of the Bonds,
together with any investment earnings thereon, may, at the discretion of the Commonwealth

Transportation Board, secure the payment of principal or purchase price of and redemption premium,
if any, and interest on the Bonds.

$ 5. The terms and structure of each issue of the Bonds shall be determined by the Commonwealth
Transportation Board, subject to approval by the Treasury Board in accordance with § 2.2-2416 of the
Code of Virginia, as amended. The Bonds of each issue shall be dated; shall be issued in a principal
amount (subject to the limitations set forth in § 2 and in subsection C of § 33.1-23.03:8 of the Code of
Virginia); shall bear interest at such rate or rates, which may be fixed, adjustable, variable or a
combination thereof and may be determined by a formula or other method; shall mature at such time or
times not exceeding 25 years from their date or dates; and may be made subject to purchase or
redemption before their maturity or maturities, at such price or prices and under such terms and
conditions, all as may be determined by the Commonwealth Transportation Board. The Commonwealth
Transportation Board shall determine the form of the Bonds, whether the Bonds are certificated or
uncertificated, and fix the authorized denomination or denominations of the Bonds and the place or
places of payment of principal or purchase price of, and redemption premium, if any, and interest on
the Bonds, which may be at the office of the State Treasurer or any bank or trust company within or
without the Commonwealth. The principal or purchase price of, and redemption premium, if any, and
interest on the Bonds shall be made payable in lawful money of the United States of America. Each
issue of the Bonds may be issued under a system of book entry for recording the ownership and transfer
of ownership of rights to receive payments of principal or purchase price of and redemption premium,
if any, and interest on such Bonds. All Bonds shall have and are hereby declared to have, as between
successive holders, all of the qualities and incidents of negotiable instruments under the negotiable
instruments law of the Commonwealth.

The Commonwealth Transportation Board may sell the Bonds from time to time at public or private
sale, by competitive bidding, negotiated sale, or private placement, for such price or prices as it may
determine to be in the best interests of the Commonwealth.

$ 6. The Bonds shall be signed on behalf of the Commonwealth Transportation Board by the chairman
or vice-chairman of the Commonwealth Transportation Board, or shall bear the facsimile signature of
such officer, and shall bear the official seal of the Board, which shall be attested to by the manual or
JSacsimile signature of the secretary or assistant secretary of the Commonwealth Transportation Board.
In the event that the Bonds shall bear the facsimile signature of the chairman or vice-chairman of the
Commonwealth Transportation Board, such Bonds shall be signed by such administrative assistant as
the chairman of the Transportation Board shall determine or by any registrar/paying agent who may be
designated by the Commonwealth Transportation Board. In case any officer whose signature or a
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Jacsimile of whose signature appears on any Bonds shall cease to be such officer before the delivery of
such Bonds, such signature or facsimile signature nevertheless shall be valid and sufficient for all
purposes as if such officer had remained in office until such delivery.

$ 7. All expenses incurred under this Act or in connection with the issuance of the Bonds shall be paid
from the proceeds of such Bonds or from any available funds as the Commonwealth Transportation
Board shall determine.

$ 8 The Commonwealth Transportation Board is hereby authorized to borrow money at such rate or
rates through the execution and issuance of the Bonds for the same, but only in the following
circumstances and under the following conditions:

a. In anticipation of the sale of the Bonds, the issuance of which shall have been authorized by the
Commonwealth Transportation Board and shall have been approved by the Governor, if the
Commonwealth Transportation Board shall deem it advisable to postpone the issuance of such Bonds,
or

b. For the renewal of any anticipation notes herein authorized.

$ 9. The proceeds of the Bonds and of any anticipation notes herein authorized (except the proceeds of
the Bonds the issuance of which has been anticipated by such anticipation notes) shall be placed by the
State Treasurer in a special fund in the state treasury, or may be placed with a trustee in accordance
with § 33.1-283 of the Code of Virginia, as amended, and shall be disbursed only for the purpose for
which such Bonds and such anticipation notes shall be issued, provided, however, that proceeds
derived from the sale of the Bonds herein authorized shall be first used in the payment of any
anticipation notes that may have been issued in anticipation of the sale of such Bonds and any renewals
of such Bonds. The proceeds of the Bonds and of any anticipation notes herein authorized, together
with any investment earnings thereon, shall not be taken into account in computing, and shall be in
addition to funds allocated pursuant to the highway allocation formula set forth in § 33.1-23.1 of the
Code of Virginia, as amended.

§ 10. The Commonwealth Transportation Board is hereby authorized to receive any other funds that
may be made available to pay costs of the projects and, subject to appropriation, to make available the
same to the payment of the principal or purchase price of, and redemption premium, if any, and interest
on the Bonds authorized hereby and to enter into the appropriate agreements to allow for those funds
to be paid into the state treasury, or to a trustee in accordance with § 33.1-283 of the Code of Virginia,
as amended, to pay a part of the costs of the projects or to pay principal or purchase price of, and
redemption premium, if any, and interest on the Bonds.

§ 11. The Commonwealth Transportation Board, in connection with the issuance of the Bonds, shall
treasury or with a trustee in accordance with § 33.1-283 of the Code of Virginia, as amended, which
shall secure and be used for the payment of the Bonds to the credit of which there shall be deposited
such amounts, appropriated therefor by the General Assembly, as are required to pay principal or
purchase price of, and redemption premium, if any, and interest on the Bonds, as and when due and
payable, (i) from the revenues deposited into the Priority Transportation Fund pursuant to §
33.1-23.03:8; (ii) to the extent required, from revenues legally available from the Transportation Trust
Fund; and (iii) to the extent required, from any legally available funds.
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$ 12. Bond proceeds and moneys in any reserve funds and sinking funds in respect of the Bonds shall be
invested by the State Treasurer in accordance with the provisions of general law relating to the
investment of such funds belonging to or in the control of the Commonwealth, or by a trustee in
accordance with § 33.1-283 of the Code of Virginia, as amended.

$ 13. The interest income from and any profit made on the sale of the obligations issued under the
provisions of this Act shall at all times be free and exempt from taxation by the Commonwealth and by
any municipality, county, or other political subdivision thereof.

$ 14. All obligations issued under the provisions of this Act are hereby made securities in which all
persons and entities listed in § 33.1-280 of the Code of Virginia, as amended, may properly and legally
invest funds under their control.

3. That the revenues generated by the provisions of this act shall not be used to calculate or reduce the
share of local, federal, and state revenues otherwise available to participating jurisdictions. Further,
such revenues and moneys shall not be included in any computation of, or formula for, a locality's
ability to pay for public education, upon which appropriations of state revenues to local governments
for public education are determined.

4. That prior to December 1 each year beginning 2008, the Washington Metropolitan Transit Authority
shall submit to the Auditor of Public Accounts its annual audit report and financially audited statements
for the most recent fiscal year.

5. That the Hampton Roads Transportation Authority established under § 33.1-391.7 of the Code of
Virginia shall develop as part of a long-range plan quantifiable measures and achievable goals for the
area embraced by the Authority relating to, but not limited to, congestion reduction and safety, transit
and high-occupancy vehicle (HOV) usage, job-to-housing ratios, job and housing access to transit and
pedestrian facilities, air quality, and per-capita vehicle miles traveled. In addition, the Northern Virginia
Transportation Authority established under § 15.2-4830 of the Code of Virginia shall also develop as
part of a long-range plan quantifiable measures and achievable goals for the area embraced by the
Authority relating to, but not limited to, congestion reduction and safety, transit and high-occupancy
vehicle (HOV) usage, job-to-housing ratios, job and housing access to transit and pedestrian facilities,
air quality, and per-capita vehicle miles traveled. Such goals shall be subject to the approval of the
Commonwealth Transportation Board on a biennial basis.

6. That the fees and taxes authorized by this Act for imposition or assessment by the Hampton Roads
Transportation Authority shall only be imposed or assessed by the Authority if (i) at least seven of the
twelve governing bodies of the counties and cities embraced by the Authority (but excluding the
governing body of the County of Accomack and the governing body of the County of Northampton)
that include at least 51% of the population of the counties and cities embraced by the Authority (but
excluding the populations of the Counties of Accomack and Northampton) pass a duly adopted
resolution stating its approval of such power of the Authority no later than December 31, 2007, and
then (ii) at least seven of the twelve voting members of the Authority (but excluding voting members
representing the Counties of Accomack and Northampton), that include at least 51% of the population
of the counties and cities embraced by the Authority vote in the affirmative to impose or assess all of
the fees and taxes authorized under this Act for imposition and assessment by the Authority in all of the
counties and cities embraced by the Authority. For purposes of this enactment, "population” means the
population as determined by the most recently preceding United States decennial census or the most
recent population estimates of the Weldon Cooper Center for Public Service of the University of
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Virginia, whichever is most recent.

Such governing bodies in clause (i) shall provide a copy of the resolution to the Clerks of the House of
Delegates and the Senate as soon as practicable. The Authority shall provide written notice of an
affirmative vote pursuant to clause (i) to the Clerks of the House of Delegates and the Senate as soon
as practicable. Upon receiving any such resolution or written notice, the Clerks shall provide a copy to
the Governor.

In addition, if such fees or taxes are imposed or assessed, such fees and taxes shall not apply to the
Counties of Accomack and Northampton until such time as the Chesapeake Bay Bridge-Tunnel
facilities become subject to the control of the Hampton Roads Transportation Authority as provided in §
33.1-391.12 of the Code of Virginia.

7. That the Virginia Department of Transportation, with the advice and consent of the Commonwealth
Transportation Board, shall, on or before January 1, 2009, submit to the Governor and the General
Assembly a plan to reassign the various highways, bridges, and other facilities comprising the state
primary, secondary, and urban highways systems so that the assignment of components to such systems
is based, to the maximum degree practicable, on the components' functional classification. Such plan
shall include an analysis of the costs, benefits, and programmatic and other implications of such
reassignment.

8. That the Virginia Department of Transportation shall, on or before January 1, 2008, submit a written
report to the General Assembly on its plans to create opportunities to enhance mobility and free-flowing
traffic on Department-controlled toll facilities by embracing technological advances.

9. That the tenth enactment clauses of Chapter 1019 and Chapter 1044 of the Acts of Assembly of 2000
are repealed effective July 1, 2007.

10. That counties shall have until July 1, 2011, to amend their comprehensive plans in accordance with
the provisions of § 15.2-2223.1 of the Code of Virginia pursuant to this act.

11. That the fees collected pursuant to § 46.2-206.1 in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2008, shall be
deposited and held in a special fund in the state treasury and transferred on August 15, 2008, to the
Highway Maintenance and Operating Fund.

12. That in conjunction with the construction of rail mass transit in the right of way of the Dulles
Access/Toll Road Connector (DATRC), sound walls shall be constructed along residential properties
from the beginning of the DATRC to Dulles International Airport if required by the issued Record of
Decisions pursuant to the National Environmental Policy Act (42 U.S.C. § 4321 et seq., as may be
amended).

13. That the Northern Virginia Transportation Authority established under § 15.2-4830 of the Code of
Virginia shall provide written notice to the Clerks of the House of Delegates and the Senate of any
affirmative vote of the Authority to assess or impose any fee or tax authorized under this act for
imposition or assessment by the Authority. The Authority shall provide such notice as soon as
practicable. Upon receiving such written notice, the Clerks shall provide a copy of the same to the
Governor. Furthermore, the Authority, the cities and counties embraced by the Authority, the _
Commissioner of the Department of Taxation, the Commissioner of the Department of Motor Vehicles,
and other appropriate entities shall develop guidelines, policies, and procedures for the efficient and
effective collection and administration of the fees and taxes authorized by this act for use by the
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Authority. The guidelines, policies, and procedures shall be made public at least 60 days prior to their
implementation. The development of these guidelines, policies, and procedures shall be exempt from

may authorize an anticipation loan for purposes of meeting the requirements of this enactment.

14. That the Hampton Roads Transportation Authority, the cities and counties embraced by the
Authority, the Commissioner of the Department of Taxation, the Commissioner of the Department of
Motor Vehicles, and other appropriate entities shall develop guidelines, policies, and procedures for the
efficient and effective collection and administration of the fees and taxes authorized for use by the
Authority. The guidelines, policies, and procedures shall be made public at least 60 days prior to their
implementation. The development of the guidelines, policies, and procedures shall be exempt from the
Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). The Secretary of Finance may
authorize an anticipation loan for purposes of meeting the requirements of this enactment.

15. That the staff of the Hampton Roads Planning District Commission and the Virginia Department of
Transportation shall work cooperatively to assist the proper formation and effective organization of the
Hampton Roads Transportation Authority. Until such time as the Authority is fully established and
functioning, the staff of the Hampton Roads Planning District Commission shall serve as its staff, and
the Hampton Roads Planning District Commission shall provide the Authority with office space and
administrative support. The Authority shall reimburse the Hampton Roads Planning District
Commission for the cost of such staff, office space, and administrative support as appropriate.

16. That, as provided under § 58.1-3221.2, the tax authorized thereunder may only be imposed by a city
or county embraced by the Northern Virginia Transportation Authority established under § 15.2-4830,
or a city or county embraced by the Hampton Roads Transportation Authority established under §
33.1-391.7.

17. That the Department of Motor Vehicles shall work with the appropriate state agencies to develop
guidelines, policies, and procedures for the efficient and effective collection and administration of the
fees set forth under § 46.2-206.1 of the Code of Virginia. The guidelines, policies, and procedures shall
be made public at least 60 days before their implementation. The development of the guidelines,
policies, and procedures shall be exempt from the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the
Code of Virginia).

18. That the tax authorized pursuant to § 58.1-540 of the Code of Virginia shall not be imposed by a
city or county embraced by the Northern Virginia Transportation Authority if the Authority is imposing
any of the fees or taxes authorized under law for imposition or assessment by the Authority.

19. That the tax authorized pursuant to § 58.1-540 of the Code of Virginia shall not be imposed by a
city or county embraced by the Hampton Roads Transportation Authority if the Authority is imposing
any of the fees or taxes authorized under law for imposition or assessment by the Authority.

20. That the Northern Virginia Transportation Authority and the counties and cities embraced by the
Authority shall work cooperatively with the towns located within such counties for purposes of
implementation of the provisions of this act.

21. That the revenue generated by this act shall be used solely for transportation purposes.

22. That the provisions of this act which gencrate additional revenue for the Transportation Trust Fund,
established under § 33.1-23.03:1 of the Code of Virginia, or the Highway Maintenance and Operating
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Fund shall expire on December 31 of any year in which the General Assembly appropriates any of the
revenues designated under general law to the Highway Maintenance and Operating Fund or the
Transportation Trust Fund for any non-transportation related purpose.

23. That should any portion of this act be held unconstitutional by a court of competent jurisdiction, the
remaining portions of this act shall remain in effect.
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)l board head new police chief

d Bowen, chairman of the Poquoson School

1s been named as the city’s next police chief.

1 will begin work June 18, said Poquoson City
Charlie Burgess. He beat out a pool of 30 appli-

2 of whom were interviewed.

1 is a retired Newport News police captain and is
nanager at Busch Gardens, Burgess said. Bowen
:ing and unavailable for comment Wednesday.

3s said Bowen has a strong professional and edu-
rackground, as well as a long familiarity with

1. “He has a good feel for the community and
portant,” he said.

1 will be head of a 22-employee department that
without a police chief since Feb. 22, when John
hite was fired for revealing confidential informa-
olation of city policy. White had been pohce chief
son since 1974.

1 Bowen will cost the city significantly more than
alary. He will earn $83,000 a year, Burgess said.
out $9,200 a year more than White earned.

38 said Bowen is expected to resign from the
»ard, a position that pays him $45 a month.

— Matt Sabo
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SUFFOLK
Lawmakers up ante

as roads tax weighed

Two state elected officials had a mes-
sage for the Suffolk City Council on
Wednesday evening: If you don’t pass the
proposed Hampton Roads Transporta-
tion Authority plan now, there won’t be
any second chances.

Suffolk

SURRY

has a lot to
gain from
the plan,
which
would fund
road proj-
ects
throughout
the region
with extra
vehicle and
fuel taxes,
said Del.
Chris
Jones, R-
Suffolk.

It would
beef up
Route 460,
which trav-
els south
from

Petersburg into Suffolk, potentially turn-
ing the city into a major gateway into
Hampton Roads.

— Alicia P.Q. Wittmeyer

» Some council members aren‘t
convinced. B2

ogfighting probe continues

Dogfighting investigators have been keeping their eyes
on NFL star Michael Vick’s Surry County property and
were on the scene again Wednesday.

A search warrant for the property expires today, but
investigators could apply for a new one. The prosecutor
and sheriff, questioning the wording of the search war-
rant, decided to hold off on executing it.

The dogfighting investigation at property owned by
Vick, a Newport News native and Atlanta Falcons quar-
terback, kicked off in April after a drug raid on the prop-
erty turned up 66 dogs, mostly pit bulls, and equipment
used in dog fighting. Vick has since sold the property.

The investigation is ongoing. No one has been charged.

— Veronica Gorley Chufo
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SKLUS AallU HMOLUHIALIULL LIE S1ale wa
dents to learn at each grade level. Te
curriculum specialists and test de;
develop the 35- to 60-question tests, ¢
ers set the passing scores.

In a paper published by Washingtc
based think tank, The Education Sect
ginia Board of Bducation member ¢/
Rotherham explained that panels use
methods to reach those scores, rangi
taking the tests themselves to having
of students take them. Rotherham s
scores are educated judgment calls
answer the question, how good is good
in Virginia? The Board of Educatic
must approve the passing scores.

The range of passing scores, cal
scores, is almost as broad as the rang:
jects tested. The highest is 32 out of 4
or 70 percent correct, on the fourth-gra
ing test. But some are much lower. Fo
ple, the cut score for world history 1:
30 out of 60 answers, or 50 percent.
dent answers half the questions corre
passes.

Such scores can look too low to st
unfamiliar with the test, Rotherham

“A low cut score may not always't
thing,” he wrote. “It might be an es;
hard test. In the same way, high cu
don’t guarantee rigor. It may be a ve
test.”

Please see

Wharldawalmay

Regional mysteries solve
one column at a time.

e used to be at the Jefferson Com

Q o What happened to the fountain
shopping center in Newport News?

A It was removed because driver
o it too confusing to get around, ¢
ing to Bob Saffran, senior vice presic
Goodman Co., developer and owner (
shopping center. “We took it out, rep
the road and added stop signs,” whic
for easier access into the courtyard s
he said. Regarding the fountain, Saff
said the company would “try touse i
another center eventually.”

Something been puzzling you? Drop us a line at
answers@dailypress.com or call 757-247-2830.
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Legislators
hit the road
for roads
plan

General Assembly
members pitched a
regional transportation
plan to the City Council.

BY ALICIA P.Q. WITTMEYER
awittmeyer@dailypress.com | 247-4535 .
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Virginia General Assembly
members visited Suffolk
Wednesday evening to pitch a
proposed regional transportation
plan to the City Council.

Sen. Frederick M. Quayle, R-
Chesapeake, and Del. Chris
Jones, R-Suffolk, told council
members that if the proposed
Hampton Roads Transportation
Authority isn’t passed, there’s o
hope of seeing a better plan for
improving the region’s roads in
the near future,

I were up to him, Quayle said,
the plan on floor today would look
different. :

But, he said, “the projects are
getting more expensive every
day. If we do nothing, the traffic’s
going to come, there’s no doubt
about that.”

The proposed taxing authority
is an attempt by the General
Assembly to bring in a projected
$168 million annually for seven
road improvement projects in
Hampton Roads.

The plan would be funded
through taxes and fees on buying
and registering vehicles, Addi-
tional taxes would also be placed
on fuel purchases, vehicle
repairs, and real estate sales.

¥
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Estimates show it would cost

the average Hampton Roads
household about $177 per year.
The proposal must be passed

by seven out of 12 Hampton Roads

cities and those must also account
for a majority of the region’s pop-
ulation. The plan has met the pop-
ulation requirements, but it is
still two cities short of the seven
required for it to go into effect.

Wednesday's presentation was

an information session, but sev-
eral members urged the council
to pass the plan, saying they
thought it was the best chance on
the horizon for the region had to
solve its transportation roads.

Good roads are important for
aregion’s quality of life, and a fac-
tor when potential employers are
deciding where to locate their
businesses, said Councilman
Charles Brown. They also affect
the region’s tourism industry.

“If T had to craft my own bill, it
would not be the bill that’s on the
floor now,” Brown said. “But...we
have to do what’s best for the
region and move on.”

One of the bill’s seven projects
includes expansion and improve-
ments to Route 460, which runs
south from Petersburg, to the
west of the James River into Suf-
folk.

The upgrades could take some
of the pressure from Richmond
and Washington, D.C., traffic off
of Interstate 64, and turn Suffolk
into a major gateway into South
Hampton Roads, Jones said. The
plan also provides for a third
crossing over the James River,
which would cut through the
northern part of the city.

“Suffolk benefits greatly from
this,” he said.

Councilman Charles Parr said
he was concerned about the cost
of administering the authority,
and that he wanted to make sure
it would have enough oversight.

The council has not yet sched-
uled a date to vote on the plan.
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