AT A REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE JAMES CITY SERVICE AUTHORITY, JAMES CITY COUNTY, VIRGINIA, HELD ON THE 24TH DAY OF OCTOBER 2000, AT 7:00 P.M. IN THE COUNTY GOVERNMENT CENTER BOARD ROOM, 101 MOUNTS BAY ROAD, JAMES CITY COUNTY, VIRGINIA.

A. ROLL CALL

James G. Kennedy, Chairman Jay T. Harrison, Sr., Vice Chairman John J. McGlennon Ronald A. Nervitt Bruce C. Goodson (Absent)

Sanford B. Wanner, Secretary Robert H. Smith, Treasurer Frank M. Morton, III, County Attorney Larry M. Foster, General Manager

B. BOARD CONSIDERATION

1. Water Purchase Agreement

Mr. Larry Foster, General Manager of James City Service Authority (JCSA), stated that the JCSA has identified the need for a supplemental water supply to meet projected water needs until a permanent water supply is available such as the King William Reservoir and/or the desalination facility.

The JCSA and Newport News Water Works (NNWW) have determined that between 1.1 and 1.8 mgd of water can be made available to JCSA from the NNWW system through relatively simple and inexpensive interconnections of the two systems. The purchase rate would be \$1.65/1,000 gallons of water.

In addition to the agreement with NNWW for the additional water, the instillation of a water storage tank will be required prior to activating the interconnection. The agreement will increase the JCSA's operating costs which may effect rates. Any change will be reflected in the FY 02 budget.

The Board and staff discussed water quality factors associated with JCSA customers being served by NNWW, the fact that this is a temporary water source, and the need to continue to pursue the King William Reservoir and desalinization.

1. Mr. Ed Oyer, 139 Indian Circle, asked where the NNWW water would be distributed.

Mr. Foster stated that James Terrace, Route 199, and the Jamestown Road/Route 5 corridor will be supplied water under this agreement, and that the monitoring of the NNWW water quality control is JCSA's responsibility.

C. BOARD REQUESTS AND DIRECTIVES - None

Mr. McGlennon made a motion to adjourn.

The motion passed by a voice vote: AYE: Nervitt, McGlennon, Harrison, Kennedy (4). NAY: (0). ABSENT: Goodson.

The Board adjourned at 9:15 p.m.

Sanford B. Wanner Secretary to the Board

102400bd.min