A MEETING OF THE STORMWATER ADVISORY COMMITTEE CRITERIA SUBCOMMITTEE OF THE COUNTY OF JAMES CITY, VIRGINIA, WAS HELD ON THE FIFTH DAY OF MARCH, TWO-THOUSAND NINE, AT 1:00 P.M. IN MEETING ROOM B OF THE WILLIAMSBURG REGIONAL LIBRARY, 515 SCOTLAND STREET, WILLIAMSBURG, VIRGINIA.

## 1. ROLL CALL

## **Committee Members Present:**

Thomas Abrials, Stonehouse Charlie Brewster, Jamestown Jody Davis, Berkeley Mac Mestayer, Jamestown – by phone Brian Noyes, CSWCD John Schmerfeld, Jamestown Debra Siebers, Berkeley Aaron Small, Berkeley Mary Smallwood, Berkeley

## **Committee Members Absent:**

Bob Winters, Powhatan

## **Staff Present:**

Wayland Bass, Senior Stormwater Engineer Frances Geissler, Stormwater Director Scott Thomas, Environmental Director

- 2. ANNOUNCEMENTS None.
- 3. PUBLIC COMMENT None.
- **4. APPROVAL OF MINUTES** Meeting minutes from February 10, 2009 were approved.
- 5. ORDER OF BUSINESS
- a) Brian Noyes reviewed the Colonial Soil and Water District's method of project ranking evaluation.

- b) Wayland Bass and Fran Geissler explained the methods the county currently uses to try to differentiate value between water quality benefits, flooding problems, and drainage issues.
- c) Discussion ensued as to whether or not to have separate criteria for different types of projects. It was determined that there exist three areas that are affected by stormwater: Life, Property, and the Environment and perhaps these should be the first look at any project. A numerical ranking within these major categories could be supplemented by a decision tree, where inputs are all quantitative and thus produce a hybrid approach to identifying criteria.
- d) Action registry: Brian Noyes, Charlie Brewster, Tom Abrials, and Mac Mestayer will schedule a meeting to discuss criteria issues.
- e) The next meeting was scheduled for April 17<sup>th</sup> at 9:30, in the large conference room of building A in the James City county Government Complex

6. **COMMITTEE DIRECTIVES** – None.

7. ADJOURNMENT - The meeting was adjourned at 2:45.

Charlie Brewster, Vice-Chairman

Frances Geissler, Secretary