A MEETING OF THE STORMWATER ADVISORY COMMITTEE OF THE COUNTY OF JAMES CITY, VIRGINIA, WAS HELD ON THE SIXTEENTH DAY OF APRIL, TWO-THOUSAND NINE, AT 3:30 P.M. IN THE LARGE CONFERENCE ROOM OF BUILDING A OF THE COUNTY GOVERNMENT COMPLEX, 101-A MOUNTS BAY ROAD, JAMES CITY COUNTY, VIRGINIA.

1. ROLL CALL

Committee Members Present:

Charlie Brewster, Jamestown Terry Elkins, Powhatan Jack Haldeman, Berkeley Doug Haller, Roberts Mac Mestayer, Jamestown Brian Noyes, CSWCD John Schmerfeld, Jamestown Roger Schmidt, Stonehouse Debra Siebers, Berkeley Aaron Small, Berkeley Mary Smallwood, Berkeley Bob Winters, Powhatan

Committee Members Absent:

Thomas Abrials, Stonehouse Robin Bledsoe, Berkeley Jody Davis, Berkeley Tracy Lassiter, VDOT Kathleen Lindsay, Stonehouse

Staff Present:

Wayland Bass, Senior Stormwater Engineer Darryl Cook, County Engineer Suzanne Dyba, Stormwater Intern Frances Geissler, Stormwater Director

- 2. ANNOUNCEMENTS New committee members were introduced. These new members include: Roger Schmidt (Stonehouse), Mary Smallwood (Berkeley), and Bob Winters (Powhatan).
- 3. PUBLIC COMMENT None.
- 4. APPROVAL OF MINUTES The minutes for meetings on November 18, 2008, December 18, 2008, January 15, 2009, and March 19, 2009 were presented for approval. Jack Haldeman moved to approve the minutes, and it was seconded by Doug Haller. All ayes.

5. ORDER OF BUSINESS--

- a) Budget Review. Fran Geissler handed out a description of the Stormwater General Operating Fund for the FY09 and proposed FY10 operating budgets. Discussion followed about the committee's role regarding advising the Board about budgetary considerations. This was deferred for discussion at a later time.
- b) Project updates. Fran Geissler handed out updated project lists. She then described the current Stormwater Division project workplan. Discussion also included the importance of Turf Love, a grant application for implementation of the Yarmouth Creek Watershed Plan, development of a social marketing program to promote no-wake activities in County waterways, pre-qualification of stream restoration contractors, and working with County legal department to develop grant process for private BMP owners.
- c) Committee workplan. Committee members discussed the meeting schedule through January 2010. The criteria subcommittee agreed to have a proposed ranking process and any alternatives available to the committee for July meeting. In October the committee will vote on priority rankings for projects. January will be an organizational meeting. There was general agreement that the program should strive for pro-active rather than reactive planning in formulating project workplans. The advisory nature of the committee to the Board of Supervisors provides a platform for giving guidance about stormwater impacts. Concerns about moving forward with problem prevention as an objective, as opposed to fixing inherited problems within the county.
- d) Confirmation of Sub-committee members. Criteria sub-committee members include Charlie Brewster, Mac Mestayer, Brian Noyes, Aaron Small, John Schmerfield, Tom Abrials, Bob Winters. Flood sub-committee includes Robin Bledsoe, Deb Siebers, Terry Elkins, Roger Schmidt, Jack Haldeman, Doug Haller, Mary Smallwood.
- e) Sub-committee reports. Criteria sub-committee: Brian Noyes gave update to the committee. He stated that the committee is making progress to define terms and include matters of health, welfare, and safety when constructing priority methods of evaluating project workplans. Next criteria sub-committee meeting will be April 17 at 9:30 in building A of the James City County complex. Flood management sub-committee: Jack Haldeman gave update to the committee. Sub-committee looking at ways the county should be involved in flooding issues. Next meeting for flood sub-committee will be April 29 at 4:00, at the Williamsburg Regional Library.
- 6. COMMITTEE DIRECTIVES Will add to July Agenda a discussion of support of stormwater fee. Deb Siebers motioned to have committee endorse NFWF application for stimulus grant for an implementation plan for the Yarmouth Creek Watershed, Aaron Small seconded. All ayes. Fran Geissler to draft the resolution on behalf of the committee. Need to construct a rough workplan for the committee for specific direction. The next scheduled meeting is July 16, 2009 at 3:30 PM in building A of the James City County complex.

7. ADJOURNMENT - Terry Elkins motioned to adjourn, Roger Schmidt seconded. The meeting was adjourned at 5:07 PM.

Aaron Small, Chairman

Fran Geissler, Secretary

Stormwater Advisory Committee Minutes April 16, 2009 Page 3 of 3