A MEETING OF THE STORMWATER ADVISORY COMMITTEE OF THE COUNTY OF JAMES CITY, VIRGINIA, WAS HELD ON THE FIFTEENTH DAY OF JANUARY, TWO-THOUSAND AND NINE, AT 3:30 P.M. IN THE LARGE CONFERENCE ROOM OF BUILDING A OF THE COUNTY GOVERNMENT COMPLEX, 101-A MOUNTS BAY ROAD, JAMES CITY COUNTY, VIRGINIA.

A. ROLL CALL

Committee Members Present:

Thomas Abrials, Stonehouse Robin Bledsoe, Berkeley Charlie Brewster, Jamestown Jody Davis, Berkeley Terry Elkins, Powhatan Jack Haldeman, Berkeley Doug Haller, Roberts Tracy Lassiter, VDOT Mac Mestayer, Jamestown Brian Noyes, CSWCD John Schmerfeld, Jamestown Debra Siebers, Berkeley Aaron Small, Berkeley

Committee Members Absent:

Kathleen Lindsay, Stonehouse

Staff Present:

Wayland Bass, Senior Stormwater Engineer Darryl Cook, County Engineer Suzanne Dyba, Stormwater Intern Frances Geissler, Stormwater Director John T.P. Horne, General Services Manager

- B. ANNOUNCEMENTS Staff distributed general announcements about upcoming events in the County including J4C BMP Seminar and JCC Volunteer Monitoring Training dates
- C. PUBLIC COMMENT -None.
- D. APPROVAL OF MINUTES -Deferred until the next meeting.

E. ORDER OF BUSINESS

- 1. A motion was made to approve the By-laws. After amending Article 3 and Article 10, the committee approved the By-laws.
- 2. Officers were elected. Aaron Small was elected chair, Robin Bledsoe was elected vice-chair, and Fran Geissler, as Stormwater Director, was elected secretary.
- 3. Fran Geissler discussed how County staff looked at current projects, and how the Stormwater Division's prioritization schedule currently worked. Staff requested approval to move forward with a prioritized workplan for FY09 (through June 30,

- 2009). Concerns were raised about criteria and talk ensued about budget considerations. There was general agreement that any project deemed necessary by the County administration or Board of Supervisors, should not be considered by the committee as part of its deliberations and that the Committee's focus should be on projects under the Stormwater Division's purview to fund. The Committee asked for a multi-year list of projects in the pipeline for future funding and that future maintenance needs be included in the presented material. It was moved and approved to allow staff to implement the current workplan through the end of the fiscal year. Mac Mestayer had the dissenting vote. Future decisions will be discussed at a later time after more review.
- 4. Three possible subcommittee descriptions were distributed.
 - a. Criteria Subcommittee: The purpose of this subcommittee is to develop a methodology to evaluate and prioritize potential capital projects that is technically sound and readily understandable by the general public. This subcommittee began work during the December 2008 projects tour. After general discussion, it was agreed that this subcommittee will remain in existence through July 2009 and Brian Noyes was appointed Chair. He then gave a brief summary about what the subcommittee had discussed at their January 5th meeting, and their future direction. Charlie Brewster was appointed vice-chair. In addition to the chair and vice-chair, subcommittee members include: Doug Haller, Mac Mestayer, Aaron Small and John Schmerfeld.
 - b. Flood Management Subcommittee: The purpose of this subcommittee is to review living space issues in 100 year flood plains, review highway and street flooding issues in 100 year flood plains, and to provide guidance to the County staff and Board of Supervisors regarding needed flood plain studies and the implementation thereof. Robin Bledsoe was appointed chair of that subcommittee and John Haldeman appointed vice-chair. In addition to the chair and vice chair, the subcommittee members include: Tom Abrials, Deb Siebers, Terry Elkins, Doug Haller
 - c. Public Engagement and Outreach: It was decided that this subcommittee would be formed at a later time
- F. COMMITTEE DIRECTIVES The floor was opened for questions from committee to staff. At this time a water quality workshop was agreed upon for March 19, at 3:30 in the large conference room in Building A of the county complex. It was then decided that the next regular meeting of the committee would take place on April 16 at 3:30 in the large conference room in building A of the county complex. It was then confirmed that the next meeting of the Criteria Subcommittee would take place on February 17th at the Center Street Grille. It was requested that county staff continue with the current workplan, and revise/update information on future projects as described in Item 3, above.

G. ADJOURNMENT - The meeting was	adjourned at 5:30.
11 -1 611	Lynn
Aaron Small, Chairman	Fran Geissler, Secretary